‘I Worship God, I Worship Allah, And I Am Traditionalist’ - Ooni Of Ife, Oba Adeyeye Ogunwusi Says

Date: 23-06-2017 8:28 am (6 years ago) | Author: success Xenab
- at 23-06-2017 08:28 AM (6 years ago)

The Ooni of Ife has finally set the records straight on doubts about the religion he identifies with, and this comes almost a year after he called Jesus Christ his ‘father’ and stirred a major controversy online.

Recall that during the thanksgiving of his coronation last July, the Ife monarch knelt and thanked God, and then proceeded to call Jesus Christ his father. That move sent a strong statement  which earned him massive backlash on social media.

Shortly after, the monarch noted that he is unmoved by the criticisms. “I will continue to do it forever and ever. Those who criticised me are ignorant of the supreme power of God Almighty before whom all kings must bow. God is the King of all kings. He appoints kings and dethrones them,” he told Punch.

Now, the Ooni of Ife has added that not only does he worship God in a church, he is also a staunch Muslim and a traditionalist.

Here’s what he said on the Osasu Show,:

“I Am Not A Christian Alone, I Can Be Called A Muslim Too. I Practice All The Religions Very Well. I Go To The Mosque To Pray. I Go To The Church For Service.

Yes, You Are Correct That I Am A Traditionalist. Yes, You Are Correct That I Was Born A Christian. But The Only One You Didn’t Add Is I Am A Practicing Muslim As Well.

And I Will Tell You Something That People Don’t Understand: Every Religion Is One, But We Have A Different Perspective To These Different Religions, Because God Is One. Unitary God.

And For Me, I Have Been Able To See The Light – That There Is Nothing That Is Demonic In Our Ancient Traditional Religion. Nothing. It Is The Western World That (Demonised It).”

This latest update has stirred major reactions online. While many people have agreed with him, others have also aired their reservations.

“This couldn’t have been said better!!! Kabiyesi o! Ki ade pe l’ori yin, ki bata pe l’ese,” said one Instagrammer @_builda, and another, @orimi_masu, said, “Don’t associate yourself with any other God except almighty Allah. Olorun ase dada fun wa. Aminayarobi.”

What do you think?

Posted: at 23-06-2017 08:28 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- ruthie at 23-06-2017 08:47 AM (6 years ago)
STORY FOR THE GODS
Posted: at 23-06-2017 08:47 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- HiddenGenuis at 23-06-2017 08:49 AM (6 years ago)
Woòz... woòbì,
Posted: at 23-06-2017 08:49 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- pricklong at 23-06-2017 08:54 AM (6 years ago)
Good  God is God
Posted: at 23-06-2017 08:54 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- HiddenGenuis at 23-06-2017 08:56 AM (6 years ago)
Wòòz.. wòòbì,
Posted: at 23-06-2017 08:56 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- Haso112 at 23-06-2017 09:08 AM (6 years ago)
Me.... I no dey put mouth for this kind matter... Only GOD knows those that truly worship him.. Some people just carry Christianity for head, while some dey pray five times daily to ALLAH wey dirty on the inside, and then we still get traditionalists wey dey save lives... Make everyone dey do as e sabi.... GOD ONLY KNOWS....!!!
Posted: at 23-06-2017 09:08 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- starzx at 23-06-2017 09:10 AM (6 years ago)
WESTERN WORLD DIDN'T DEMONIZED OUR TRADITION, WE OURSELVES DEMONIZED IT BY USING IT FOR EVIL ACTS .NT EVERY GOD IS GOD.WORSHIP THE GOD THT DNT NEED BLOOD FRM U TO WORSHIP HIM. SOME RELIGION IS KILLING AND VIOLENCE, I PRAY JESUS VISIT U.
Posted: at 23-06-2017 09:10 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- chukkychukky at 23-06-2017 09:17 AM (6 years ago)
YORUBAS DEM NO DEY STRAIGHT DEY ARE NEIGHTER HERE OR THERE

Posted: at 23-06-2017 09:17 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Otikadinje at 23-06-2017 10:01 AM (6 years ago)
This is what my father calls amulumala, Kabiyesi who dem born reach to say you are wrong sir Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 23-06-2017 10:01 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- baros2017 at 23-06-2017 10:43 AM (6 years ago)
50-50 tribe
Posted: at 23-06-2017 10:43 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- benosky4 at 23-06-2017 12:16 PM (6 years ago)
a typical yoruba man is never upright in his believe, he's a confused Oba dancing the beating of cabals expectations instead of his personal conviction.

Posted: at 23-06-2017 12:16 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osayan1 at 23-06-2017 01:37 PM (6 years ago)
I like d man tho,but sir,u can't serve ywo master,choose God is The Almighty
Posted: at 23-06-2017 01:37 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- blesslord at 23-06-2017 02:00 PM (6 years ago)
yorubas  can never  forget their are  tradition no  matter  the  religion they worship..they believe in tradition more  than foreign culture, so  i cannot  blame the man because he  is   real   yoruba ..
Posted: at 23-06-2017 02:00 PM (6 years ago) | Newbie
- Larry28 at 23-06-2017 02:03 PM (6 years ago)
Posted: at 23-06-2017 02:03 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 23-06-2017 08:57 PM (6 years ago)
I pray that people will be able to "see the light" then they will understand this man.
Posted: at 23-06-2017 08:57 PM (6 years ago) | Hero

1. "Simi And Adekunle Gold Make Me Regret Being Single" – Tiwa Savage Opens Up

2. BREAKING: Kaduna Assembly Probes El-Rufai’s Loans, Directs Committee To Summon Ex-Gov

3. BBN Star, Tuoyo Replies Moet Abebe, Reveals How Much He Spent At A Club

4. Panic As Gunmen Invade Ekiti LG Secretariat

5. Police Foils Cable Theft, Arrest One Suspect In Katsina

6. “Person Wey Get You, Get Somebody” – May Edochie Praises Rita Edochie On Her Birthday

7. Bayern Munich v Arsenal: UEFA Champions League Q/Final Match,Team News,Goal Scorers & Stats

1. Shock As Video of Woman $exually Abusing A Child Goes Viral; Lagos Authorities Seek Perpetrator

2. Controversy Surrounds Former BBNaija HM, Ka3na Jones After Ritual Video With Gospel Music

3. Tears Flow As Beautiful Lady Dies After Alleged Poisoning At Shop Opening Party (Video)

4. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

5. Brutal Child Abuse Incident Captured On Video Prompts Nationwide Outcry (Watch With Caution)

6. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

7. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

8. 18-Yr-Old Usman Umar To Be Arrested For Fatal Stabbing Of Friend, Usman Abubakar In Adamawa

9. Repentant Boko Haram Member Enlisted Into Nigerian Army Slits Woman’s Throat In Enugu Barracks

10. Edo Police Commissioner Orders Trial Of Officer Threatening Civilians With AK-47 In Viral Video