Over 137 Students Sponsored Abroad Absconded — TETFUND

Date: 19-07-2023 11:51 am (1 year ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 19-07-2023 11:51 AM (1 year ago)

The Executive secretary of the Tertiary Education Trust Fund has raised an alarm. According to Sonny Echono, about 137 students sponsored abroad by the fund have absconded. Echono made the revelation on Tuesday when he appeared before the House of Representatives Ad-hoc committee investigating the alleged mismanagement of N2.3tn tertiary education tax by TETFund. He stressed that the scholars who were sponsored by TETFund for “higher education” abroad refuse to return to the country after completing their programmes.

The Executive Secretary said, “Some of the scholars that have been sponsored, unpatriotically when they go, they enjoy our scholarship, acquire a higher degree, then refuse to come back, it has become a major crisis.

“The scholarship requires that you will come back. It is required that you have a guarantor and in many cases, the guarantor has suffered undue hardship because when you disappear, we hold the guarantor to pay all the money expended on your behalf but that has not been effective.”

Echono said TETFund is working with stakeholders for “stringent and effective measures” to be taken against those who refuse to return to the country for Nigerians to benefit from their expertise. “We believe that in a system where we work with our embassies and the institutions, we can enforce the repayment for those who insist they will not come back,” he said.

He added that if the scholars who don’t want to return to the country refuse to repay the money expended on their programmes, they will be declared persona non grata. Echono said, “We will write to the embassies and they will make it available to those countries and they will not be able to get jobs. They will be seen as fugitives of law from their countries. “We may have to take that hard stand because the numbers are alarming. We just checked about 40 institutions and over 137 absconders and the review is ongoing.

“It is a huge number that we cannot afford and so we will be seeking your support to strengthen some of the existing regulations to ensure that those who benefit from this programme must come back. “We are not against people looking for greener pastures but do so on your own, not through our scholarship or our sponsorship.”

The Executive Secretary said TETFund may suspend foreign scholarship due to the exchange rate crisis. Echono said that some of the taxes are paid to TETFund in foreign currencies at the account domiciled with the Central Bank of Nigeria but when fees are to be paid for scholars abroad, the apex bank insists on TETFUND sourcing Forex by itself.

He added, “We operate a system where our forex is being sold on our behalf at an official rate and we apply like anybody else to get it, sometimes it leads to additional cost. “Currently as I speak, we are in consultations with all our stakeholders to suspend foreign training for a year or two. “This is because of the recent exchange rate adjustments. We are unable to continue based on our disbursement guidelines.

“The money we allocated in naira cannot cover the dollar requirement for training. For those who are currently there, we now need more naira to pay for the dollar that is required for their annual fees. We are trying to put a hold.”

He said most of our training will now be done locally through “our experienced, first-generation universities and other specialised universities” in the country. “This way we can retain our resources in-house and cope with the change of foreign exchange variation,” he added.

Echono also said the federal government was owning TETFund N371.3 billion out of which it has repaid N46 billion so far. He also denied the allegations that TETFund mismanaged the N2.3tn fund. Meanwhile, Oluwole Oke, chairman of the committee, said the probe is not to witch-hunt, adding that the lawmakers are out to stop the misuse of public funds.

Posted: at 19-07-2023 11:51 AM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 19-07-2023 12:01 PM (1 year ago)
Awon omo oshi  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 19-07-2023 12:01 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- KDoinspire at 19-07-2023 12:32 PM (1 year ago)
GoGoMan, I am sure you are one of the beneficiaries. You better go back to Nigeria
Posted: at 19-07-2023 12:32 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 19-07-2023 12:38 PM (1 year ago)
Come back to do what? Una try
Posted: at 19-07-2023 12:38 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- KDoinspire at 19-07-2023 12:47 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: kp45 on 19-07-2023 12:38 PM
Come back to do what? Una try
  instead to come serve your father land , them.want them to come back to come suffer for their father land. Lolzz
Posted: at 19-07-2023 12:47 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 19-07-2023 12:53 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: KDoinspire on 19-07-2023 12:32 PM
GoGoMan, I am sure you are one of the beneficiaries. You better go back to Nigeria

lol, but the investment I have in Nigeria is more than me.. in fact, plenty of people benefit from it and i pay my taxes too.. i don't need to be there physically
Posted: at 19-07-2023 12:53 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- OmoNobaUku at 19-07-2023 02:55 PM (1 year ago)
The bigger question is, why are you using public money to sponsor students abroad rather than help improve the quality of education delivered by our own institutions of learning? PBAT and the in-coming minister for education should sack ALL of you summarily and without benefits, for gross misconduct, incompetence and waste of public funds.
Posted: at 19-07-2023 02:55 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- OmoNobaUku at 19-07-2023 02:58 PM (1 year ago)
This public outcry is an alibi for deep rooted corruption, in all probability. If you sponsored ghost (i.e. non-existent) students, why won't they conveniently disappear so you can cover up the money you've stolen? PBAT's Government and the DSS needs to investigate this, who each of the alleged students are and where every kobo marked for them was sent. You can't fool us folks!
Posted: at 19-07-2023 02:58 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac

1. I'm No Longer Interested, My Spirit Has Left There - Fubara Speaks on Returning As Rivers Gov.

2. FCT Minister, Nyesom Wike Storms Venue of PDP Meeting With Governors Present

3. Masquerade Crushed to Death by Commercial Tricycle in Awka, Anambra

4. BREAKING: Dangote Refinery Slashes Petrol Gantry Price To N825 Per Litre

5. "Fornication Is Not A Sin"? - Singer, Falz Says

6. "Peter Obi Not Real Opposition" – Sowore Criticizes Labour Party

7. Kano Police Arrest Suspected Kidnapper, Rescue Victim

8. Actress, Ini Edo Celebrates Mother's Day With Touching Tribute To Her Daughter

9. “Why Are We Still Alive?” - Actress, Mary Njoku Poses Important Question

1. Lady Calls Out JAMB After Mysterious Overnight Change in Brother’s UTME Result

2. “He Got Me Pregnant”: Nigerian Lady Accuses Popular Pastor Of Sexual Misconduct In Viral Video

3. "Why Was I Held Hostage?" — VeryDarkMan Blasts GTBank Over EFCC Arrest Ordeal (Video)

4. Socialite, Pretty Mike Shows up to 2025 AMVCA Looking Like This... (Photos)

5. Pregnant Woman Dies Mid-operation As Jehovah’s Witness Doctor Refuses Blood Transfusion

6. AMVCA 2025: Seven Doors & Lisabi: The Uprising Light Up Nollywood’s Biggest Night (Full Winners

7. Lagos Lady Recounts Ordeal in 'One Chance' Bus, Says She Was Hypnotized, Robbed & Abandoned

8. Wizkid. Ayra Starr Face Backlash Over “Gimme Dat” Lyrics Allegedly Insensitive To Amadou Diallo

9. Chaos In Port Harcourt as Woman Acts Erratically After Alleged Drop-Off By Suspected Yahoo Boy

10. Arrest Tompolo Now! Nigerian Doctor Dares EFCC To Go After Niger Delta Militant Leader, Tompolo