Nigerian Long Jump Athlete, Mercy Abire Faces 20Yr Sentence In Jail Over Money Laundering In US

Date: 04-08-2023 7:47 pm (8 months ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 4-08-2023 07:47 PM (8 months ago)

Mercy Abire, a Nigerian long jumper, is awaiting sentencing after pleading guilty to conspiracy to commit money laundering in the United States.

This admission puts Abire at risk of a huge 20-year prison sentence, a significant development in a case that exposes an intricate web of fraudulent activities involving Nigerian athletes.

In a statement, the US Justice Department confirmed Abire’s guilty plea, saying the athlete participated in a large operation from 2018 to 2022.

Abire, along with her co-conspirators, exploited online romance scams, charity scams, and other forms of fraudulent schemes to deceive individuals and illicitly amassed funds.

The ill-gotten gains were subsequently transferred among the co-conspirators, with a substantial portion of the funds finding their way overseas.

Specifically, between November 2018 and April 2019, Abire reportedly transferred more than $100,000 to her co-conspirators using her U.S. bank account.

The indictment details a sophisticated operation demonstrating the breadth and sophistication of the fraudulent actions of the persons implicated.

In a joint statement, US Attorney Darren J. LaMarca and Federal Bureau of Investigation Special Agent in Charge Jermicha Fomby stressed the gravity of the crimes.

Abire’s sentencing is set for 30 August, according to the statement. In the case of a conviction, the final sentence will be determined by a federal district court using the United States Sentencing Guidelines and other relevant statutory criteria.

A former Nigerian U-18 long jump champion, Abire, 26, previously pursued her studies at the esteemed Louisiana State University.

Her athletic career culminated in participation in the Nigeria qualification trials for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics, held at Yaba College of Technology, Lagos, in July 2019.

Abire’s case is not an isolated incident, as the Nigerian sports community finds itself embroiled in a broader legal predicament.

Other athletes, including Raymond Ekevwo, Anikeme Etim, Emmanuel Ineh, and Toluwani Adebakin, were also apprehended last year on suspicion of mail and wire fraud

Posted: at 4-08-2023 07:47 PM (8 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 4-08-2023 07:54 PM (8 months ago)
Probably used as a money mole by a boyfriend or brother! and those idiots just use these girls they don't give them any big money!! why would u give her 20yrs stupid country!! in Uk na 2yrs if the money big  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 4-08-2023 07:54 PM (8 months ago) | Grande Master
- darylsmith at 4-08-2023 10:08 PM (8 months ago)
Quote from: gogoman on  4-08-2023 07:54 PM
Probably used as a money mole by a boyfriend or brother! and those idiots just use these girls they don't give them any big money!! why would u give her 20yrs stupid country!! in Uk na 2yrs if the money big  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
You think say na naija when Dey will just say, Oga na my first time, if you let me go I no go do am again.

Crime deterrents.
Anyone who is thinking of such crime will think again and go do something legit. That is what this is about
Posted: at 4-08-2023 10:08 PM (8 months ago) | Upcoming
- nikiniki at 5-08-2023 09:46 PM (8 months ago)
I have a story to share with you all. When I was a banker, I had a male customer that I respected so much. He lived in the old Queens Drive, Ikoyi and I worked at the Falomo roundabout area in Ikoyi. I believed he was wealthy and influential.
 I left the bank and I left the country, 10 years later he got in touch with me and I told him I now live in the US. He said that is good and he has job prospect for me and he will call at a certain time and day. I waited eagerly.
 He called on the date specified and told me to hold on while one of his boys tell me what I needed to do. From the way the 'boy' talked, they are into scamming people abroad and need someone like me with a US account to be sending the money home while I take my share.
I did not say a word through out the speech and the rich man told the boy to stop and allow me to talk, and know what I feel about it. I launched into use cases for them. I told them that, what they are doing is a huge crime and so many people like me has been jailed over stuff like that. He cut me short and said he will call me again.
 Since then, I didn't hear from him again. Moral of the story: If it feels wrong, it is wrong. If it's a secret, it is a crime. Be careful out there!
Posted: at 5-08-2023 09:46 PM (8 months ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Forex: CBN Stops Opay,Palmpay, Kuda& Moniepoint From Onboarding New Customers

2. Odumeje Disappointed Us - Abroad Based Man Shares What ‘Indaboski’ Did at London Airport

3. Internet on Fire As Wizkid and Davido Fight Each Other With Words on X(Twitter)

4. SHOCKING Moment Two Employees Were Caught on CCTV Performing Rituals in The Office

5. Careful o, I'm Not The One to Be Played With - Tekno Replies Kizz Daniel Over 'Buga' Royalties

6. War Of Words Lingers On As Oritse Femi Sides With Wizkid After Calling Don Jazzy An Influencer

7. “I Can Retire Today And You’ll Still Not Be On My Level” – Wizkid Replies Davido

8. Former UFC Heavyweight Champion, Francis Ngannou Mourns Death of His 18months Old Son

9. Isreal DMW Drags Wizkid Following Rift With His Boss, Davido

10. Wizkid Shades Davido’s Signee, Peruzzi, Calls Him 'Pant Washer Songwriter’

11. Upcoming Singer, Gnewzy, Kidnapped in Delta, His Abductors Demand $200k Ransom

12. 16 Persons Land In Police Net Over Murder Of Female Police Inspector, Erekere In Rivers

13. Nigerian Students & Others Faces Unemployment Crisis In Canada

14. VIDEO: Singer Teni Wades In Wizkid & Other's Beef, Says Nigerian Female Artists Too Boring

15. PHOTOS: How Teenager Allegedly Kill 2Yr Old Boy, Harvests Organs In Cross River

16. Tragedy As Young Man Commits Suicide After Issuing Notice To Quit His Apartment Over N60k Rent

17. Ministry Of Power Is Acting The Script Of IMF & Word Bank Following Electricity Hike- Femi Fala

18. "You Owe Don Jazzy Big Apology" – Actress, Shan George Tells Wizkid Over Disrespectful Remark

19. Accept Tariff Hike Or Face Total Blackout - Minister Of Power, Adebayo Adelabu, Tells Nigerians

20. Troops Arrest Human Trafficker In Lagos As 22Yr Old Victim Escapes After She Overheard Plan

1. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

2. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

3. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

4. I Will Reconcile Atiku And Wike If I Emerge PDP National Chairman – Suswam

5. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

6. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

7. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

8. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)

9. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

10. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)