ANOTHER GRAMMATICAL BLUNDER FROM THE FIRST LADY (Page 6)

Date: 07-03-2011 2:36 pm (13 years ago) | Author: paul harry
1 ... 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10
- divineproject at 8-03-2011 01:51 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: wunzie on  7-03-2011 09:10 PM
Quote from: dapo2 on  7-03-2011 07:30 PM
Goodday my fellow Nigerians,This is what i have been telling you.You all stink in your grammar, some of you write as if you never graduated from elementary school, not to mention from high school.You hide your lack of mastery of English language behind that broken english that is swiftly spoken by the Ibo people that has spread to other tribes albeit with trepidation.You speak atrociously without caring if other nations and people understand your argument or opinion.Your Nollywood movies could have been more successful, were it made with stars that speak decipherable language, and i even hear there are some movies made using Yoruba language. What a dumb idea,and you wonder why you can not command mega million dollars in return for your effort in making a movie like your counterparts in the US.My advice to the first lady is to stop speaking pidgin english everyday but to instead practice proper english in her mansion. (The rain in spain falls mainly in the plain) Repeat after me Lady

Your ignorance and arrogance disgust me. You claim to be a Nigerian - "Goodday my fellow Nigerians" -  yet you talk of Nigeria and Nigerians in such demeaning terms. One, you ignorantly assume that if one does not have a mastery of English language, he probably may not have attained more than an elementary education. That assumption is foolish and narrow. How about millions of people who lived and studied in countries whose official language is not English language? In any case, even for those who may have studied in English speaking countries, not everybody would, like you, necessarily equate enlightenment with a strong proficiency in spoken/written English. Your ignorance is also reflected in your perception of pidgin English ( many prefer the word "pidgin" to " broken"). There are many Nigerians who speak and write much better English than you will ever learn in your lifetime, but yet are proud to communicate in pidgin English because it gives them a feeling of better connection with their countrymen/countrywomen. It helps them to even communicate  more effectively some feelings and ideas which otherwise in your so called English will not have been fully expressed. For GOD's sake, can't you simply understand that English language is a foreign language for most Nigerians and so is likely to be inherently inadequate in expressing all our sentiments and ideas. Two, your generalisation about Nigerians speaking "atrociously" is absurd and a reflection of your own narrow mindedness
  Three,  i do not understand what is dumb about making movies in Yoruba language. Yet again, your arrogance and ignorance can not allow you to see that movies are sometimes meant to reflect the experiences of a people. So, what better way to convey this than in their own language? Finally, your assumption that movie production is alway solely driven by commercial consideration is flawed. Yes, making money from movies is important but it is not always the only reason why people want to produce movies.
 So, shed you arrogance and ignorance so you can learn more!

Thumbs up wunzie, I couldnt have put it better..........just imagine!..........I speak and write pidgin english, but that doesnt mean I cant communicate in good english.  The wife of former governor of Lagos state was on a radio station that uses only pigin english and she was so very fluent in it, even Pat Utomi himself also came to that station and flowed with the pidgin english, so wetin him dey try yarn...........?......PUAAAAAAAAAA

Posted: at 8-03-2011 01:51 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- imahnuel at 8-03-2011 01:54 PM (13 years ago)
NA WA OOOOOOOOOOOOOO.its not her fault.she sch passed tru her
Posted: at 8-03-2011 01:54 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Henrio1 at 8-03-2011 02:06 PM (13 years ago)
Does it matter how she speak it? after all English is not our first language in Nigeria.....
Posted: at 8-03-2011 02:06 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Nwona at 8-03-2011 02:09 PM (13 years ago)
while we caution the first lady on her abuse of grammar, I would also advise that this reporter be be sent to English language teachers for refresher courses.
Posted: at 8-03-2011 02:09 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- bishopdray at 8-03-2011 02:13 PM (13 years ago)
Why some of una no get work like this. wetin concern you with her Vocabulary abi your own person fit become first laby with degree? :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(
Posted: at 8-03-2011 02:13 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- KINGJHOE at 8-03-2011 02:15 PM (13 years ago)
GUY NA CHEAP POPULARITY U WANT OR FOR CHEAP POLITICAL GAIN?PATIENCE NA PHD(IN VIEW) FOR ENGLISH EDUCATION...THIS FORUM SHOULD BE DEVOID OF POLITICAL CREDITS...NA WAO...HOW UNA DEY LIE OVER A FELLOW BEING...KARMA GO TURN TO U SOMEDAY.INSHA ALLAH
Posted: at 8-03-2011 02:15 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- divineproject at 8-03-2011 02:17 PM (13 years ago)
I dont know why some people dey drink panadol for another person headache, Mr. President is not complaining and English is not her 'mother' tongue', therefore she is free to 'murder' it anyhow she likes.........afterall some natives of this language still have problem speaking wat we call the standard english.....

Posted: at 8-03-2011 02:17 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- akpalakostella at 8-03-2011 02:29 PM (13 years ago)
This site is too Local, that's  why you hear local,dull and stupid  rumor in  the site ,am leaving the site immediately.
Posted: at 8-03-2011 02:29 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- DELAT at 8-03-2011 02:36 PM (13 years ago)
M.Y.O.B, make una mind your own business
Posted: at 8-03-2011 02:36 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- enoeno at 8-03-2011 02:36 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: akpalakostella on  8-03-2011 02:29 PM
This site is too Local, that's  why you hear local,dull and stupid  rumor in  the site ,am leaving the site immediately.

your not serious at all
Posted: at 8-03-2011 02:36 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- lanudja at 8-03-2011 02:41 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: macto on  7-03-2011 06:01 PM
The writer claimed that the first lady made a grammatical error, the same writer
in his story made a blunder "while addressing widows umuahia". Is it not like
the kettle calling pot black?
Hmmmm i saw it as wel! and another one "wetin dey happy..." u can imagine... meaning no one is perfect when it comes to talking English Mr. poster. Hisssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
Posted: at 8-03-2011 02:41 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- laydeelaracraft at 8-03-2011 02:48 PM (13 years ago)
The writer claimed that the first lady made a grammatical error, the same writer

abeg. dont even go there...the poster is not a public speaker n the first lady isnt. In a country where English is the common language, this is sucha joke. What is stopping her from getting a prof speech writer that writes short speech for her to memorise n deliver?
Posted: at 8-03-2011 02:48 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mksyoo at 8-03-2011 02:51 PM (13 years ago)
'Only for me to read again today dat "WHILE ADDRESSING WIDOWS UMUAHIA" '. Mr Writer, On the basis of your own column, I believe it is arguably true to say that you really need to get an english tutor for yourself, thereafter, you would have be availed the audacity or reasonable ground to criticise the gramaticability of others.  I beg you to pardon me if I come across as rude. Just being honest.  Subsequently, its also true to say that though english is never our "mother-language", howbeit our leaders or anyone exercising their official powers, whilst choosing to communicate in english should not make a mockery of themselves by absolutely murderously misconstructing simple grammars. Consequently, the first lady's seceretary/PA or whoever has been writing her speech should be SACKED! Absolute nonsense.

Oga i expect you at your age to know the difference between error by omission and a gramatical blunder.
Nevetheless, i agree with the later part of your post.
Posted: at 8-03-2011 02:51 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Dee4evr at 8-03-2011 02:53 PM (13 years ago)
we dont have to crucify her for that. English is not our mother's tongue.
Posted: at 8-03-2011 02:53 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- harold634 at 8-03-2011 02:59 PM (13 years ago)

THE POSTER AND FIRST LADY NEEDS BRIGHTER GRAMMER
Posted: at 8-03-2011 02:59 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jfchosendotCOM at 8-03-2011 03:01 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: paulharry on  7-03-2011 02:36 PM
i have not fully recovered from what i read on naijapals the other day when she said on NTA that.MY HUSBAND AND SAMBO IS A PEACEFUL PEOPLE.Only for me to read again today dat while addressing widows umuahia she started with ''MY FELLOW WIDOWS''.Wetin de happy abeg i wan know

nonsense poster: YOU ARE A MONGER
Posted: at 8-03-2011 03:01 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- jfchosendotCOM at 8-03-2011 03:03 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: harold634 on  8-03-2011 02:59 PM

THE POSTER AND FIRST LADY NEEDS BRIGHTER GRAMMER

))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))) YOU GOT IT RIGHT BRO...
Posted: at 8-03-2011 03:03 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- twinster at 8-03-2011 08:28 PM (13 years ago)
Another political destroyer...poster y u no show ur face...4get dat woman na nigeria language she dey speak...
Posted: at 8-03-2011 08:28 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- corkpuller at 8-03-2011 08:28 PM (13 years ago)
Idiots pardon what?? for what why would she be pardoned.She is a phyuking first lady for crying out loud now i know why majority of Nigerians are dumb as ass.look around the world and tell me which first lady makes blunders like this moron of a woman you guys called First lady.She and her husband are not good enough for this country.
Posted: at 8-03-2011 08:28 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 8-03-2011 09:18 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: dengold29 on  8-03-2011 01:02 AM
haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah
this is too much so ooo,
like she dosen,t really knows what that statement means , na wa ooo,
can some body kindly pull her husband by ear, GOD dosen,t know play ooo, and the ANGEL are always jolts down such a reckless instant,
i dey fear so ooo

What is all these Rubbish? some of you don't worth being in this Forum for God sake! You are complaining about someone's Grammar, while you are making Idiot of yourself. What is DOSEN'T? Do you learn past and present tense in Primary school? what about Singlar and Plural? You Really need to go back to nursery School before you can correct others.

what a nonsense is that you are saying ? you must be very drunk , who and who is not supose to be here ? idiot , you take this to be your father,s establishment ? animal
Posted: at 8-03-2011 09:18 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
1 ... 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10

1. Mayorkun Slam Nicki Da Barbie With N1b Lawsuit For Damaging His Reputation, Accusing Of Been A

2. VID: Singer Paul Okoye Cries Out Over The Struggles Of House Chores In The UK

3. VID: Prophet Sends Disturbing Message To Paul Okoye About His Girlfriend, Ivy Ifeoma

4. VIDEO: Unrest In Plateau As Gunmen Kill University Student, 19 Others 20 In Fresh Attack

5. Police Parade One-Man Interstate Phone Thief, 10 Others In Kwara

6. "Declaring Yahaya Bello Wanted Unnecessary" – Bwala Slams EFCC

7. ‘It’s False’ - Singer Skiibii Reacts To Nicki Dabarbie’s ‘Ritual’ Accusation

8. APC Reacts To Claims That Presidency Is Involved In Ganduje’s Suspension

9. Lagos Govt Arrests 10 Fake MOT Enforcement Officials

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

4. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

8. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line

9. APC National Chairman, Ganduje Suspended From The Party

10. Lady Who Accidentally Posted Cozy Photos With Davido Shares New Shocking Video of The Singer