Nigerian singer Wizkid has issued a cautionary message regarding his musical identity and the release of his latest album, urging against labeling him solely as an Afrobeat artist and requesting bloggers refrain from sharing his new music.
Taking to his Instagram account, the musician made his stance clear on the matter, emphasizing his prosperity while imploring fans of Afrobeat not to download his latest album. In a bold declaration, Wizkid asserted that he does not align himself with the Afrobeat genre and discouraged its use as a descriptor for his work.
Further underlining his position, the singer sternly warned media outlets and bloggers against sharing his album upon its release, signaling a desire to maintain control over his artistic narrative and the representation of his music.
“Album done! see you!soon bitches!
Tian richer than u niggas lal
And pls Abeg if u like Pakuruma wizkid don’t download this new album…in fact delete me from ur playlist and your life!
And if u like afrobeats pls don’t download my album!
I am not a phyuking afrobeats artiste! Don’t call me
that hoe!
I am not Afro anything bitch!
1 more all u naija blogs
or media don’t post my! when it drop! Una papa!
shit”
His post has drawn a lot of conversation from social media users.
See some comments below,
ceejisbae noted: “He doesn’t want to be boxed just in one genre of music. He can do Afro, rnb,trap whatever he wants. He has talent that surpasses just being an Afro singer period.”
isaacgerald asked: “Can Someone check on him please? It’s not all about fame and money, we need people”
pretty_tonia1_ wrote: “30bg for life happiness wan wound us”
kelvinkhiz reacted: “Wizkid is truly a kid no doubt”