Genevieve Nnaji Reveals Why She Has Taken A Break From Nollywood

Date: 01-07-2014 1:23 pm (9 years ago) | Author: kaygee
- at 1-07-2014 01:23 PM (9 years ago)

If you are an avid follower of Nollywood movies, you must have noticed that Genevieve Nnaji has been absent from the movie screens for some time. Her last movie was Half Of A Yellow Sun, which came out in April and saw her play a minor role. Before then she appeared in lead roles in Ije and Tango With Me, both in 2012. The actress says the reason for her absence on Nollywood screens is a lack of quality scripts.
In a recent interview , she said
I guess I haven’t found the right script yet. Creativity and depth are the qualities that I look out for in a script. In the beginning, the movie industry emphasized quantity but things are changing and there is an improvement in trend. I am among the people who advocate for the improvement of the industry. So said, I am constantly watching out for the kind of stories I take part in. I am in support of movies that show a great deal of professionalism and creativity. Having practiced my art in international and professionally produced stories like ‘Ije’; ‘Mirror boy;’ and ‘Tango with me’, I don’t think I can return to the blandness and mediocrity that characterized Nollywood in the past.
Speaking on her personal style and what determines her red carpet looks, she said
My mood and comfort level also determines my choice of clothing. I don’t think there are many clothes I would not try on. I am very daring when it comes to fashion.
Gene also went on to talk about a side of her we don’t see, her charity work. She mentors young girls through her Saint Genevieve Foundation and views herself as a role
I mentor quite a number of young women. But under the Saint Genevieve Foundation, we currently sponsor about 12 girls per session. The Foundation aims to assist young girls to become independent and self sufficient through both financial and social support.
When asked when she plans on retiring, she said
I will retire when I am too old and weary to carry on
Gene we need to see you in more movies! Come back!!

Posted: at 1-07-2014 01:23 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dollar22 at 1-07-2014 01:34 PM (9 years ago)
Na because money done to plenty for your bank account
Posted: at 1-07-2014 01:34 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ngfineface at 1-07-2014 01:41 PM (9 years ago)
2nd to comment? Otiooo I will come back after Darepar
Posted: at 1-07-2014 01:41 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Fredoscar at 1-07-2014 01:47 PM (9 years ago)
Gene, the money that you made from Atiku and other top politicians is enough to give life time Break from Nollywood
Posted: at 1-07-2014 01:47 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- dynasty4all at 1-07-2014 01:47 PM (9 years ago)
BEAUTIFUL OF DAUGHTER BIAFRA, U ARE VERY CORRECT
ONE HAVE 2 PROGRESS, NOT RETROGRESS
U ARE NO 1
Posted: at 1-07-2014 01:47 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dynasty4all at 1-07-2014 01:50 PM (9 years ago)
ONE HAS 2 PROGRESS, AND NOT 2 RETROGRESS
Posted: at 1-07-2014 01:50 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dynasty4all at 1-07-2014 01:56 PM (9 years ago)
ADA D'ÓLA NMA 1 OF IGBOLAND, & AFRICA IN GENERAL
Posted: at 1-07-2014 01:56 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dynasty4all at 1-07-2014 02:00 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Fredoscar on  1-07-2014 01:47 PM
Gene, the money that you made from Atiku and other top politicians is enough to give life time Break from Nollywood
HOPELESS HUMAN, WHY NOT SEND YOUR SISTERS 2 GO & MAKE SOME MONEY FROM D POLITICIANS AS U SAID.
BLOODY CIVILIAN
Posted: at 1-07-2014 02:00 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dywhyte at 1-07-2014 02:07 PM (9 years ago)
Õĸ

Posted: at 1-07-2014 02:07 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 1-07-2014 02:15 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 1-07-2014 02:15 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Dansato at 1-07-2014 02:16 PM (9 years ago)
Bless you
Posted: at 1-07-2014 02:16 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- queenbabe at 1-07-2014 02:29 PM (9 years ago)
My love carry go
Posted: at 1-07-2014 02:29 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- willyclif at 1-07-2014 02:34 PM (9 years ago)
On point.......keep it up
Posted: at 1-07-2014 02:34 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- bankadetoun at 1-07-2014 02:35 PM (9 years ago)
oK
Posted: at 1-07-2014 02:35 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ogebig at 1-07-2014 03:31 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Fredoscar on  1-07-2014 01:47 PM
bastard, what of the one ur mama make from ugly OBJ?
Posted: at 1-07-2014 03:31 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Freshlycrazy at 1-07-2014 04:12 PM (9 years ago)
story story, she....  if I talk now all dis Igbo people go attack me
Posted: at 1-07-2014 04:12 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 1-07-2014 04:52 PM (9 years ago)
thats my babe nothing do you  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 1-07-2014 04:52 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Larry28 at 1-07-2014 05:08 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 1-07-2014 05:08 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- schmit at 1-07-2014 06:43 PM (9 years ago)
Gene Aibeg no go back, give up coming actresses d opportunity.
Posted: at 1-07-2014 06:43 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- NaWahooo at 1-07-2014 11:00 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Freshlycrazy on  1-07-2014 04:12 PM
story story, she....  if I talk now all dis Igbo people go attack me

There's nothing wrong in what Genevieve said or want.
 Now this is a big problem.  A non Igbo that was having fun doing his own thing without any tribal comment  has been insulted,  his mother has been insulted already. When this happens, comments always stop on Page 2. 

That's the idea; for you to live in fair!
To carry on in the planet, you must never let anyone intimidate you, ever!!
You have a right to your opinion at any point in time, c'mon, HAVE FUN jor!!!!

Show anyone you love them too much and you become a doormat
Always be ready to be attacked and always be ready to fight back.

Posted: at 1-07-2014 11:00 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming