Regina Askia Gives Advice to African Parents Living in the Western Countries

Date: 28-08-2015 12:19 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 28-08-2015 12:19 PM (8 years ago)

Regina Askia has a word of advice for African parents who are taking care of their children in western countries:
“The recent brouhaha on Facebook where a woman was labeled mentally incompetent and thus separated from her children got me thinking. We Africans know that as mothers we will stand solidly behind our children to the death. We will walk to the ends of the earth for them. If the grave had gates and we by some unfortunate incident lost one, some of us will go through and bring our kids back.
The African woman is a lioness when it comes to her kids. Now we find ourselves in foreign countries like we say Obodo Oyibo, we all must learn to adjust our parental approaches to raising our kids. Out here, spanking your child, getting physical with them, even yelling are all considered acts of violence against a minor. The threats our mothers threw around, Like if I catch you I will slap all your teeth out, or I will rearrange or redesign your face, could be taken quite literally, don’t mind the fact you , nor our dear mothers would not in our wildest dreams carry out these threats.
If your child goes to school and says “Mommy says she will slap my teeth out” honey that’s a threat to grievous bodily harm. You will get a call or even a visit from social services. Now there are those parents who will not hear it. They will start cursing and making statements like “My father did not raise me like that and that nonsense will never happen in this house” Stomping their feet , clapping and waving hands . Putting their hands on the head and making Hmm and Haa noises even sprinkling some vernacular like okokobioko oo or Tufiakwa o!!
Just imagine how that would look to Westerners. In a society that is so quick to label everything as pathological, that is Schizophrenia right there. Opportunist partners who may have been looking for a way to do away with a woman will key in this especially if the woman is somewhat fierce and vocal. Manipulating kids who will often be smarting and angry at Mom saying no to a myriad of requests like endless hours on the Xbox and wanting to hang with suspicious friends, will easily roll with Dads/partners suggestions to agree that Mom has been harsh and physical on them.
Social services step in and the family unravels. African Americans have lived in this country for 100s of years and what has been their lot, not to mention we African immigrants? Has the justice system been fair? I would not expect the justice system to preserve the sanctity of your home which we must all strive to protect because that is the only chance our children have to fly as straight arrows in today’s world.
NOW PLEASE UNDERSTAND!! Where physical injury on a child or on a woman or man for that matter has occurred DO NOT WAIT FOR IT TO HAPPEN A SECOND TIME. Get out of that situation. Women empower yourselves. Get an education (acquire skills) and get a good job. You have no idea the kind of respect that comes with earning your paper and getting your money game on flick. You finance your “say so”.
Be wise. Much as we must preserve our homes, the first law of the jungle is survival. Take care of yourself, and your health. Stress is a silent killer let no one fool you. Anchor your faith in God, your higher power and let your God selves flourish. Take it one day at a time my sisters and let the cards fall where they may, you will always hold the aces. May God bring peace and healing to those of us who are “going through it” right now – this too shall pass……Amen.”

Posted: at 28-08-2015 12:19 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Giftedshady at 28-08-2015 12:25 PM (8 years ago)
Amen.
Posted: at 28-08-2015 12:25 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Giftedshady at 28-08-2015 12:31 PM (8 years ago)
Amen. I remember wen My Uncle brought his kids to naija. If they do anything and u like talk d next thing is i will call the police. Trust mi I tell them this is naija not obodo oyibo I given them correct beating. Wen u get there call ur police to come to naija and arrest mi
Posted: at 28-08-2015 12:31 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- proly at 28-08-2015 01:00 PM (8 years ago)
Nice one...me no get time ooh for all dose rubish i dey beat ooh
Posted: at 28-08-2015 01:00 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- freethinker at 28-08-2015 01:08 PM (8 years ago)
GOOD
Posted: at 28-08-2015 01:08 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- elchymo at 28-08-2015 02:08 PM (8 years ago)
U have spoken well,
Posted: at 28-08-2015 02:08 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- odegbalegu at 28-08-2015 02:47 PM (8 years ago)
Amen!
Posted: at 28-08-2015 02:47 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Camara77 at 28-08-2015 03:37 PM (8 years ago)
Nice one mom
Posted: at 28-08-2015 03:37 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- igweope at 28-08-2015 04:02 PM (8 years ago)
go and sit down divorcee
Posted: at 28-08-2015 04:02 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Edwin628 at 28-08-2015 04:10 PM (8 years ago)
When you physically abuse a child ,you are not only killing the child self esteem,also you are killing the child psycologically,90 percent  of nigerians were abuse pyhysically as a child,that is why the youths make a lot of poor choices
Posted: at 28-08-2015 04:10 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 28-08-2015 04:11 PM (8 years ago)
hmmm true word from a beautiful lady of my age lol
Posted: at 28-08-2015 04:11 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- beneno at 28-08-2015 04:20 PM (8 years ago)
Oooooooh
Posted: at 28-08-2015 04:20 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Edwin628 at 28-08-2015 04:20 PM (8 years ago)
When you physically abuse a child ,you are not only killing the child self esteem,also you are killing the child psycologically,90 percent  of nigerians were abuse pyhysically as a child,that is why the youths make a lot of poor choices ,lets be frank ,nigeria youths are the weakest in the world ,instead of standing up for their right ,they prefare to do all sorts of negative things just to get properties,all this are signs that almost all nigerians are suffering from, Bpd...bortherline personality disorder due to the physicall abuse. We all suffer from parents,uncle sinior bros etc,while we were children,,Never attach. a child pysically.
Posted: at 28-08-2015 04:20 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- moralemike07 at 28-08-2015 06:39 PM (8 years ago)
Life goes on.
Posted: at 28-08-2015 06:39 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- toniwiseman at 28-08-2015 08:51 PM (8 years ago)
SUIT URESEL REGINA, ARE U NOT THE ONE SUPPORTING GAY, NOW WHY CANT U ACCEPT ALL WESTERN VALUES, JUST WAIT THEY WILL ASK U TO WALK NAKED ON THE STREET ONE DAY IN THE NAME WESTERN VALUES, BE READY TO ACCEPT ALL INCLUDING FORFEITING UR CHILDREN FOR WHATEVER REASON
Posted: at 28-08-2015 08:51 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- PoliticxGuru at 28-08-2015 09:13 PM (8 years ago)
u don try clap for ursef
Posted: at 28-08-2015 09:13 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 28-08-2015 09:13 PM (8 years ago)
Regina u talk am well. Me dey beat. I no dey for dat oyinbo madness of calling police. Naim make their children spoil finish like dis.
Posted: at 28-08-2015 09:13 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chealseafc at 28-08-2015 09:44 PM (8 years ago)
ok,
thanks for the essay.
Posted: at 28-08-2015 09:44 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickieponga at 28-08-2015 11:23 PM (8 years ago)
If not for dat beating wey u get u for no be who u be today....
Posted: at 28-08-2015 11:23 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Tyahaya at 29-08-2015 01:25 AM (8 years ago)
Good advice, now go back to keeping quiet.
Posted: at 29-08-2015 01:25 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac