“Our prophet said the spirit of God whispered to him that I would not burn if he sets me on fire. When I came out, they poured kerosene on my body and set me ablaze. But, unfortunately, I was burnt beyond recognition and before the other church members could get water, the deed had already been done,” The Nation quoted the victim, simply identified as Mama Bosede, to have said.
On his part, the prophet told The Nation that he clearly heard a voice instructing him to set a member on fire to prove and confirm that God was in their midst.
“I heard the voice clearly, but I don’t know what happened after we set fire on her. God has been speaking to me since and it has been working, so I wonder why now,” he said.
Following the incident, some members left the church for fear of being the prophet’s next victim.
“I don’t pity her; she was the one who allowed herself to be deceived by the prophet. Why did the prophet not try the fire on himself or any of his family member?” a resident, Irene Ohekina said.
Another resident, Nkechi said for the prophet to have given such instruction, it must have come from God, adding “I believe it’s the sins of the victim that made her burn, the prophet of God could not have lied.”
Daniel Ayodele, who also witnessed the incident said: “This whole thing is funny, when the pastor said the woman should be set on fire, why did she not refuse or was she scared to disobey the prophet. Now, she is writhing in pains on the hospital bed and I am sure the prophet is elsewhere enjoying himself.”
I have been reporting on latest news from Nigeria for almost 10 years now. I report on every possible news area I come across, but always ensure my reports are compiled with dignity and fact to uphold my personal values and duty as a journalist
Posted: at 19-01-2016 06:34 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
Nigerians are known for SETTING FIRE TO PEOPLE. Someine shouts out "thief" and Nigerians coming running with matches, kerosene, petrol, and tyres. Remember the innocent sudents burned alive in Port Harcourt by a mob of NIGERIANS?
The only difference is that in this case a Nigerian lady came forward and AGREED to be set on fire in her "church!"
Posted: at 19-01-2016 06:46 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
@angesco, u just reminded me of the #Aluu4, and the jungle justice in Nigeria. But this one is with the victim's consent. Smh! May God have mercy on her and heal her!!
Posted: at 19-01-2016 07:34 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
See MUMU follower ooooo.... Brainwashed lots, if the pastor say make them open mouth make him shit inside sef, dem go do am... A lot of people really need to be enlightened on what CHRISTIANITY is all about... Cause what I see is a case of people worshiping PASTORS.
Posted: at 19-01-2016 08:07 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
You dont have to play with fire to show God is with you, and not all voice are from God, and the members are fools, in this time what you need is accept what God did on the cross. We would not be instructed like abraham to do such.
Posted: at 19-01-2016 12:31 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac