60-Yr-Old Man, Charles Sued For Allegedly Defrauding & Deceiving Widow With Promise Of Marriage

Date: 18-10-2019 4:03 pm (4 years ago) | Author: Chris Brazz
- at 18-10-2019 04:03 PM (4 years ago)

Mr Charles, 60, on Friday appeared before an Ikeja Chief Magistrates’ court in Lagos charged with defrauding a woman of N150, 000 and valuables worth N627, 000  on the pretext of marrying her.

Charles, who is unemployed is facing charges of obtaining by false pretences and stealing.

The prosecutor, Sgt. Chekube Okeh told the court that the defendant committed the offences sometimes in October 2017 at Igando, Lagos.

Okeh said that the defendant met the complainant, a 50- year-old widow, wooed her and promised to marry her.

“The defendant later obtained N150, 000 from the woman and promised to pay back; he also collected documents of her land then valued at N627, 000,”
he said.

Okeh explained that the defendant failed to marry the complainant as promised, refused to pay back the money he collected from her and didn’t return the land documents.

The offences, the prosecutor said, contravened Sections 287, 314 and 318 of the Criminal Law of Lagos State, 2015.

However, the defendant pleaded not guilty to the charges.

The Chief Magistrate, Mrs A.O Akinde, granted the defendant N100, 000 bail with two sureties in like sum.

Akinde adjourned the case until October 30 for mention.

Posted: at 18-10-2019 04:03 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- busa04 at 18-10-2019 04:26 PM (4 years ago)
This kind woman sef! After giving him your down below, you still went ahead to offer him your landed property! na wa for you o!
Posted: at 18-10-2019 04:26 PM (4 years ago) | Upcoming
- Psalmbes at 19-10-2019 05:15 AM (4 years ago)
Quote from: busa04 on 19-10-2019 05:15 AM
This kind woman sef! After giving him your down below, you still went ahead to offer him your landed property! na wa for you o!
Ahahahahaha! you are funny
Posted: at 19-10-2019 05:15 AM (4 years ago) | Upcoming