Nigerians Hit Out At Gbajabiamila For His Mum's Extravagant 90th Birthday Party In Dubai

Date: 04-03-2020 11:36 am (4 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 4-03-2020 11:36 AM (4 years ago)

The mother of House Speaker Femi Gbajabiamila, Lateefat Gbajabiamila, on Monday celebrated her 90th birthday in Dubai, an aide to the Speaker, Lanre Lasisi, said in a statement.

Mr Lasisi said this on Tuesday in response to a report by Sahara Reporterswhich accused his principal of using public funds to take 300 guests on a jamboree in far east Dubai, United Arab Emirates capital.

While Mr Lasisi affirmed that the party truly held, he refuted the claim that the event fed on public funds.

“It was strictly for family members and a few childhood friends for which no public funds were appropriated or expended,” Mr Lasisi wrote in his statement. “Indeed not a single politician nor a legislator was present at the event.”

Mr Gbajabiamila is a member of the ruling All Progressives Congress and has been a member of the green chamber since 2003.

He represents Surulere I Federal Constituency of Lagos State and has held key principal offices in the House. He was the minority leader in the 7th assembly, the majority leader in 8th assembly and now speaker in the 9th assembly.

Outrage
The public outrage he has got since the report was out that he celebrated his mother’s birthday on March 2 in Dubai has been premised on the privileges he has had as a representative for 17 years on.

In 2018, he got similar public bashing, when he, apart from a one-day lavish party, gifted his wife, Salamatu Gbajabiamila, a Mercedes G-Wagon, reportedly priced at $300,000, with a number plate customised with the fond word “ASSURANCE” for her 50th birthday.

Suspicion was rife then that the speaker could be living beyond his legal means. This is because in 2017, for instance, the only time the spending of the National Assembly has been made public since 2012, members of the lower house earned an annual pay of $42,000 (approximately ₦13 million).

Olanrewaju Suraj, Chairman, Civil Society Network Against Corruption, said such an action makes the public lose their trust in the government, especially in a country sitting atop the poverty log in world.

Also, being a House member since 2003 “without any other clear stream of income,” Mr Suraj believes the speaker’s Dubai expedition is another “show of how lucrative public offices are, with Nigerians being at the receiving end.”

Call for probe
Coming at a time when members of the House of Representatives are welcoming batches of exotic cars for themselves, the speaker’s show of opulence deserves to be probed, Mr Suraj told PREMIUM TIMES.

The anti-corruption advocate called for an investigation into the House Speaker’s spending spree.

He said as a top official, Nigerians deserve to know what Mr Gbajabiamila has acquired over the period he has had access to their resources.

“You have insurgents killing citizens everyday, you have IDPs, then you have this sort of display of opulence? The world would be laughing at us,” Mr Suraj noted.

Public outrage
Some Nigerians chided the speaker in the comment section of the his rebuttal on Facebook, posted by his spokesperson, Mr Lasisi.

A screenshot of Lanre Lasisi’s Facebook page, addressing a story on the Speaker of the House of reps, Femi Gbajabiamila.

They questioned why he as the number four citizen did not lead by example by “pumping” money into an already booming economy like Dubai’s at the expense of Nigeria’s.

“Our public office holders too should not be unnecessarily stirring the hornet’s nest,” Isiaka Wakeel, a journalist commented. “You confirmed here that the speaker took people to Dubai for his mother’s birthday. That alone is enough to incur public anger.”

Another Nigerian, Malachi Opeyemi, Monday, in an obvious response to Mr Lasisi’s denial of having a politician on board the trip, noted that “someone from ward G an (executive) member was selected for the trip so it’s still a political matter.”

Similarly, Joe Igbokwe, APC Lagos spokesperson, was met with similar criticism,when he posted the speaker’s statement on his Facebook wall.

A screenshot from Joe Igbokwe, APC Lagos spokesperson.

Although some were indifferent about the event, majority of the commentators berated the speaker’s choice of Dubai above Nigeria for the birthday.

“Let’s even assume it is (from) private fund, is there nowhere in Nigeria the party can hold?” Ekezeh Ishioma Sabastine, a Facebook user, asked. “How many political leaders from Dubai or other countries come to Nigeria for birthday bash. Nigeria leaders must lead by example and practice what they preach.”

Biodun Adeniran, another user, said Nigeria’s progress and development is tied to how public officials respect the trust placed in him. “Nobody will query a private person for such frivolities, but it’s indecent of a public office holder who promised us a change.”

Other Nigerians took to their Twitter to pour out their minds. Below are some of their comments:

Waww.. He had to celebrate it in Dubai?? It’s not good for optics even if he sponsored the trip personally.. He is not longer a private person… he is the number 4th person in the country.
— Erickson (@Ericodong3) March 3, 2020

This action can’t be defended anywhere my broda. You guys have just created wrong perception for the Speaker with that action
— Morgan Omodu (@adungbe) March 3, 2020

Gbajabiamila, na person name be this ?
If na our money him use, God Co punish am and him family mtcheew
— Ukanga Charles (@UkangaC) March 3, 2020

Sensible people knew it was a lie. This was a private affair and we politicians, no matter how close we are to the speaker stayed back at home. The one for the public was held in Lagos last week which we all attended. https://t.co/aDAOZOp9Ur
— Oloye Akin Alabi (@akinalabi) March 3, 2020

So he can’t travel to Dubai and chill anymore , why are we so partisan in everything ehn . There’s no crime in traveling out and giving your mom a beautiful birthday celebration!!
— De_mola (@de_mola100) March 3, 2020

If the story is not true…kindly sue them. If not…then shut the hell up and own your misappropriation jejely. You people keep stealing money with reckless abandon and expect the whole country to take it hook line and sinker. Thank @SaharaReporters for this…evil leaders.
— Ceasar (@keljykz2) March 3, 2020

Truly, there’s no crime in spoiling your loved ones and taking them on Vacations. But it becomes a crime when it’s a new habit, especially when you just became the Speaker of the National Assembly and the vacation was sponsored with public funds. Its also a moral issue.
— Nwoke Alexander Jr. (@alex2j2) March 3, 2020

This story broke like 48hrs ago on @SaharaReportersand you are just responding with this terse and ridiculous press release? The allegations made by SR against @femigbaja are grave and bothers on corruption. If it is a false allegation, why are you guys not demanding retraction?
— Obansa P. S (@Piusobansa) March 3, 2020

Posted: at 4-03-2020 11:36 AM (4 years ago) | Hero
- edithehio at 4-03-2020 12:20 PM (4 years ago)
I nor blame dem
Posted: at 4-03-2020 12:20 PM (4 years ago) | Upcoming
- Osahenogae1 at 4-03-2020 12:34 PM (4 years ago)
Quote from: edithehio on  4-03-2020 12:34 PM
I nor blame dem
Abi??? na the incompetence Nigeria I BLAME!
Posted: at 4-03-2020 12:34 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- olowoinlionsden at 4-03-2020 01:26 PM (4 years ago)
I always have the feeling this man, Gbajabiamika, is intelligent, but he lacks commonsense. There are things not strictly bound by law, but a sensible man will akwstpys avoid doing them. Methinks Lagos us big enough, and more relevant to any 'Owanbe'his mother might require to mark her Day.
Posted: at 4-03-2020 01:26 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crusita at 4-03-2020 01:40 PM (4 years ago)
In first place the shit from nigerian leaders and their family has to stop simply ,old people don,t  even have pension in nigeria so why his mother should enjoy from government money.nigeria leaders are the most shit leaders on this planet and were are the youth?
Posted: at 4-03-2020 01:40 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nikiniki at 4-03-2020 03:49 PM (4 years ago)
You idiots should continue to vote for them. Until Nigeria change the constitution and allow people to chose their leaders at the primaries, parties will continue to foster leaders on them.
Posted: at 4-03-2020 03:49 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac