2023 WWC: FIFA Slammed Over Decision To Pay Players Directly Because Of Nigeria’s Super Falcons

Date: 02-08-2023 10:52 pm (9 months ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 2-08-2023 10:52 PM (9 months ago)

Former Super Eagles defender, Sam Sodje, has expressed discontent over comment by Fatma Samoura, Secretary-General of the Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), disparaging the Nigerian Football Federation (NFF).

NAN reports that Samoura had reportedly told the Super Falcons in their dressing room that FIFA had decided to pay their prize money directly to them rather than through the NFF.

However, Sodje, in a statement signed by him on Wednesday in Warri, said the comment was uncalled for.

“I read with shock, the statement purportedly made by Samoura in the dressing room of the Super Falcons at the ongoing Women’s World Cup.

“A FIFA official need not make this disparaging statement openly because those who were in charge of football administration in Nigeria should have been sanctioned when it noticed it,“ he said.

Sodje said it was disrespectful for her to castigate and implicate Nigeria, a nation that has contributed so much to football, without investigating the genesis of this problem.

“The Federation Secretary should understand that Nigeria, as a country, has very serious and honest sports administrators that can hold their position anywhere in the world.

“What Nigeria and, in fact, Africa need now is encouragement, not castigation.

“FIFA needs to respect Nigeria and Africa because we, as a nation and a continent, have contributed so much to world football and the growth of FIFA as an organisation,” he said.

Posted: at 2-08-2023 10:52 PM (9 months ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 2-08-2023 10:57 PM (9 months ago)
na one slave dey make person abuse all slaves!!! why NFA no pay the girls? una go collet budget cash and yet no go pay worker  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 2-08-2023 10:57 PM (9 months ago) | Grande Master
- KDoinspire at 3-08-2023 01:26 AM (9 months ago)
Stupid people. E de only de pain u say u no see money kpake
Posted: at 3-08-2023 01:26 AM (9 months ago) | Upcoming
- Stengo at 3-08-2023 02:52 AM (9 months ago)
Last last NFF don chop breakfast
Posted: at 3-08-2023 02:52 AM (9 months ago) | Upcoming
- Benti247 at 3-08-2023 04:15 AM (9 months ago)
Sam Sodje could be one of the thieves at the NNFF
Posted: at 3-08-2023 04:15 AM (9 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 3-08-2023 05:53 AM (9 months ago)
Is it not even better, maybe the girls have complain secretly to FIFA. No money for yahoo men now
Posted: at 3-08-2023 05:53 AM (9 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- ficull at 3-08-2023 06:39 AM (9 months ago)
NFF has demonstrated over and over of their extreme dishonesty when it comes to paying their players on fifa tournaments. To me, FIFA took so long in correcting this atrocity.
Posted: at 3-08-2023 06:39 AM (9 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kormeijama at 3-08-2023 07:17 AM (9 months ago)
Bastard, when was the last time your NFF was not called  up for misuse and misappropriation of funds. Why not talk to your political leaders ( the Federal Sports department to ensure that sports are  run  with integrity.Almost everyone is now a thief. But alas, FIFA just opened another Pandora box- now only players who will commit a third of that income to the very  corrupt officials will be called  up for games. You see how deep  is our African corrupt system,  almost  non stop.
Posted: at 3-08-2023 07:17 AM (9 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- smart61 at 3-08-2023 08:57 AM (9 months ago)
They should be paid individually otherwise federal government will pay in 30 years time
Posted: at 3-08-2023 08:57 AM (9 months ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 3-08-2023 09:04 AM (9 months ago)
I read all the comments and felt so happy. At least, we all agree on this. Now let me have a bottle of Heineken.

Posted: at 3-08-2023 09:04 AM (9 months ago) | Addicted Hero
- jjiofor at 3-08-2023 11:04 AM (9 months ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on  3-08-2023 09:04 AM
I read all the comments and felt so happy. At least, we all agree on this. Now let me have a bottle of Heineken.

Sodje you no dey objective right from secondary school , i sabi you and your family for enerhen road warri , shebi you stay UK small .........na so dem dey behave there ?
Posted: at 3-08-2023 11:04 AM (9 months ago) | Upcoming
- fineboy77 at 3-08-2023 12:11 PM (9 months ago)
Quote from: jjiofor on  3-08-2023 11:04 AM

Sodje you no dey objective right from secondary school , i sabi you and your family for enerhen road warri , shebi you stay UK small .........na so dem dey behave there ?
Ask am ooo

Posted: at 3-08-2023 12:11 PM (9 months ago) | Addicted Hero