Butcher in trouble for attempted murder

Date: 26-02-2011 2:55 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Aliuniyi lawal
- at 26-02-2011 02:55 PM (13 years ago)

The State Criminal Investigation Department of the Lagos Police Command has arrested a 29-year-old butcher, Adebayo Yusuf, for attempted murder. Yusuf, who is now cooling his feet behind bars at the SCID, Panti, Lagos, was accused of being in company with one Ladi, who was alleged to have shot a man called simply Dayo.

The incident, CRIME DIGEST learnt, took place at a joint, where miscreants smoked Indian hemp in Ogudu, Lagos.

A police source, who craved anonymity, said the suspect was seen with the person who shot Dayo. “He was brought to the station by some boys who identified him as the person they said shot Dayo. He was said to be seen talking with the person who committed the act, one Ladi,” the source said.

It was learnt that a disagreement had ensued between Dayo, who was said to have been lucky to be alive, and Ladi, who is still at large, as the latter vowed to compel the former to pay him the money Dayo reportedly borrowed at a time that could not be ascertained. The argument then degenerated, during which Ladi was reported to have shot Dayo.

Trouble was said to have started for Yusuf recently, however, when he was engaged to slaughter a cow. The embattled butcher has, however, maintained that he was innocent of the charge on which he is being held.

He said, “I was invited to help kill a cow for one of my customers. After the job, he gave us some pieces of meat to take home. I took mine and went to somewhere in Ogudu where they sell Indian hemp. When I bought my hemp, I asked the dealer, Omo Osho Baraku, if he was interested in buying meat but he said he wasn’t. While we were talking, some four people, Dayo, Aminat, Kabiru and Kamorudeen, that I know from the area walked in; they bought their hemp and went to a corner to smoke.

“Soon after, another guy that I really don’t know, we only play ball and sometimes meet at the hemp joint, walked in. His name is Ladi. I asked him if he was interested in buying meat. He said he was interested, but he wanted to defer the payment. I told him I couldn’t sell it to him like that as I did not have much money and I needed money. He left me and went to meet Dayo. Shortly after, I heard a gunshot. We all ran; Dayo ran to me with blood stains on him and told me that Ladi had shot him. He pleaded with me to take him to the hospital, but I told him I could not so that I would not be implicated by the police. While I was running, I saw Ladi talking with Baraku, but I did not know what they were saying.”

Yusuf told CRIME DIGEST that he thought he had seen the end of the matter, only to be proved wrong on Valentine’s Day. He said, “On Valentine’s Day, I went to Ojota (Lagos) to pick up my cloth for a carnival and bought a pair of jeans when I saw Dayo’s friends and some guys I knew were cult members in the area. I asked Dayo’s friends how he was fairing. They told me that he was taken to the village and that he was back and okay. While I was still asking, one of the cult members called him on the phone. I heard him saying that ‘one of those Ogudu boys is around.’

“Shortly after, Dayo came and called me aside. He began to explain to me that Ladi shot him because he owed him (Ladi) money. I told him that it was none of my business; that he should sort it out with Ladi. That was how the cult members began to beat me. They started saying they had caught one of the Ogudu boys that shot Dayo. I believed the case had been reported to the police. When they were through with beating me, they took me to the police station and handed me over to the investigating police officer,” he said.

Yusuf told CRIME DIGEST that the police should get Baraku to tell them where the fleeing Ladi could be. “I only see Ladi at the joint we smoke occasionally and whenever we’re playing football. I told the police to go and get Baraku as I saw them talking; he would lead them to Ladi. I’m not a killer. I do all sorts of jobs like bus conductor, okada-riding, bricklayer, okada ticketing, all sorts of jobs to make ends meet, but I have never killed or stolen before,” he said.

Posted: at 26-02-2011 02:55 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 26-02-2011 09:49 PM (13 years ago)
based on his account on the incident , one would said he is a victim of circumstancies , but GOD knows best , i hope the investigation will revealed the extent of his invelvement, but let not the inocent suffers for the crime not commited
Posted: at 26-02-2011 09:49 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- ifiokokoh at 26-02-2011 10:16 PM (13 years ago)
killing is very silos crime,i hope police  will lookinto the matter,so that innocent person may not be purnish.he may even die in jail.
Posted: at 26-02-2011 10:16 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming