6-story Jesus statue in Ohio struck by lightning

Date: 15-06-2010 5:37 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Neoblazers
[1] 2 3 4 ... 9
- at 15-06-2010 05:37 PM (13 years ago)
MONROE, Ohio – A six-story-tall statue of Jesus Christ with his arms raised along a highway was struck by lightning in a thunderstorm Monday night and burned to the ground, police said.

The "King of Kings" statue, one of southwest Ohio's most familiar landmarks, had stood since 2004 at the evangelical Solid Rock Church along Interstate 75 in Monroe, just north of Cincinnati.

The lightning strike set the statue ablaze around 11:15 p.m., Monroe police dispatchers said.

The sculpture, 62 feet tall and 40 feet wide at the base, showed Jesus from the torso up and was nicknamed Touchdown Jesus because of the way the arms were raised, similar to a referee signaling a touchdown. It was made of plastic foam and fiberglass over a steel frame, which is all that remained early Tuesday.

The fire spread from the statue to an adjacent amphitheater but was confined to the attic area, and no one was injured, police Chief Mark Neu said. The fire department would release a monetary damage estimate Tuesday, he said.

Travelers on Interstate 75 often were startled to come upon the huge statue by the roadside, but many said America needs more symbols like it. So many people stopped at the church campus that church officials had to build a walkway to accommodate them.

The 4,000-member, nondenominational church was founded by former horse trader Lawrence Bishop and his wife. Bishop said in 2004 he was trying to help people, not impress them, with the statue. He said his wife proposed the Jesus figure as a beacon of hope and salvation and they spent about $250,000 to finance it.

THIS TOPIC HAS CARRIED ONE OF THE LARGEST COMMENT CONTRIBUTION ON YAHOO, THIS IS BY NO WAY A MOCKERY OF CHRISTIANITY OR CHRIST HIMSELF(PEACE BE UPON HIM) BUT I WANT TO KNOW YOUR VARIOUS OPINIONS ON THIS MATTER.

SEE BELOW THE LINK FOR THE PHOTO:

http://news.yahoo.com/nphotos/traffic-FILE-lightning-fiberglass/photo//100615/480/urn_publicid_ap_org0143718806704ee6b898076ac9c803cf//s:/ap/us_lightning_strikes_jesus_statue;_ylt=A0wNdOfNpBdMmDoAPQ5H2ocA;_ylu=X3oDMTE5ZTBxdHRlBHBvcwMxBHNlYwN5bl9yX3RvcF9waG90bwRzbGsDc29saWRyb2NrY2h1

Posted: at 15-06-2010 05:37 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- cadanre at 15-06-2010 06:06 PM (13 years ago)
The worshippers of Jesus should be careful. This is a red light from God that what you people are doing is WRONG. Even God is angry with the statue. Chai!

Posted: at 15-06-2010 06:06 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 15-06-2010 06:09 PM (13 years ago)
I acknowledged that there is diety worthy of worshipping except Allah (S.W.T.).

Posted: at 15-06-2010 06:09 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- attamem at 15-06-2010 06:14 PM (13 years ago)
A clear one. Stop worshipping idol, God can never strick the statue of his only son.
Do that make sence to you idols worshippers?
Posted: at 15-06-2010 06:14 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- cadanre at 16-06-2010 12:04 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: attamem on 15-06-2010 06:14 PM
A clear one. Stop worshipping idol, God can never strick the statue of his only son.
Do that make sence to you idols worshippers?

Ehe! They will be the next to be striken by God. He is angry with them that they worship idol. IDOL WORSHIPPERS. Even devil is laughing at them (wawaye).

Posted: at 16-06-2010 12:04 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 16-06-2010 12:16 PM (13 years ago)
It is wonderful indeed. God sending a lighting to strike the statue of his only begotten son - - - Wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted: at 16-06-2010 12:16 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- derbi at 16-06-2010 06:31 PM (13 years ago)
WHO NA BE FOOL
Posted: at 16-06-2010 06:31 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Inemx at 16-06-2010 06:44 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on 16-06-2010 12:16 PM
It is wonderful indeed. God sending a lighting to strike the statue of his only begotten son - - - Wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!

SOME MAD MEN DEY WARE CLOTH. IS STATUS DIFFERENT FROM PICTURE? THE OTHER TYM IT WAS MOHAMMAD PICTURE THAT SENT THOUSANDS TO GRAVE. FOR YOUR INFORMATION, CHRISTIAN DO NOT WORSHIP NOR REVERENCE ANY STATUS OR IMAGE. WE DEAL WITH THE LIVING GOD- JEHOVAH IN OUR SPIRIT.
Posted: at 16-06-2010 06:44 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- derbi at 16-06-2010 07:32 PM (13 years ago)
EXODUS VERS 20 CARPTER 4_6 SAYS THOU SHALL NO MAKE UNTO THEE ANY LIKENNES OR ANY THIN THAT IS IN HEAVEN ABOVE, OR THAT IS IN THE EARTH BENEATH, OR THAT IS IN THE WATER UNDER THE EARTH, THOU SHALL NOT BOW DOWN THY SELF TO THEM, OR SERVE THEM FOR I THE LORD THY GOD IS A JEALOUSE GOD..VISITHING INIQUITY OF THE FATHER UPON THE CHILDREN UNTO THE THIRD AND FOURTH GENERATION OF THEM THAT HATE ME, AND SHOW MERCY UNTO THOUSANDS THAT LOVE ME, AND KEEP MY COMMADMENT........as u can see according to the word of God, GOD hate to be adentify by immage or anyting cross JESUS never permit churches to biuld any thing to repressent him or bow down to cross, he call it gravy image GOD Hate it so if lightning should born down graven himage i think it may be a warning from allmighty JEHOVA him self to some of our churches who are still bowing down to crosses and or making himage of the son of GOD JESUS, who also said that no man should repressent or make any thing on is behalf and worship it, so muslim short up we christian we understand everything is in the HOLY BIBLE.....
Posted: at 16-06-2010 07:32 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emirateskyd at 17-06-2010 08:28 AM (13 years ago)
lol Grin Grin what is himage??? Grin i cant understand ur english derbi Grin(one in town)....so derbi desplaying d statue of jesus  in ur church is wrong?... its not likr that in my church oo,which church do u go to?
Posted: at 17-06-2010 08:28 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Inemx at 17-06-2010 08:52 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: emirateskyd on 17-06-2010 08:28 AM
lol Grin Grin what is himage??? Grin i cant understand ur english derbi Grin(one in town)....so derbi desplaying d statue of jesus  in ur church is wrong?... its not likr that in my church oo,which church do u go to?
... AND THEY THAT WORSHIP GOD MUST DO SO IN TRUTH AND SPIRIT, FOR GOD SPIRIT., (NOT PICTURE, IMAGE OR STATUS. NOTHING LOOKS LIKE HIM).
Posted: at 17-06-2010 08:52 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 17-06-2010 10:36 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Inemx on 16-06-2010 06:44 PM

SOME MAD MEN DEY WARE CLOTH. IS STATUS DIFFERENT FROM PICTURE? THE OTHER TYM IT WAS MOHAMMAD PICTURE THAT SENT THOUSANDS TO GRAVE. FOR YOUR INFORMATION, CHRISTIAN DO NOT WORSHIP NOR REVERENCE ANY STATUS OR IMAGE. WE DEAL WITH THE LIVING GOD- JEHOVAH IN OUR SPIRIT.

THE IDOL YOU PEOPLE ARE WORSHIPING HAS BEEN DESTROYED BY GOD SENT LIGHTING. I AM SAYING THAT YOU SHOULD BE CAREFUL FOR YOU WILL BE THE NEXT. I WONDER WHAT KIND OF BRAIN YOU HAVE. THIS THING IS REAL AND YOU UP TILL NOW CANT FEEL IT. WHEN THE LIGHTING STRIKE ON YOU, YOU WILL BE NO MORE.

Posted: at 17-06-2010 10:36 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 17-06-2010 10:40 AM (13 years ago)
SINCE IDOL WORSHIPING REMAINS THE ONLY CHOICE YOU HAVE, YOU CAN CONTINUE. YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR YOUR OWN CHOICE.

Posted: at 17-06-2010 10:40 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 17-06-2010 10:47 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: derbi on 16-06-2010 06:31 PM
WHO NA BE FOOL

http://[size=14pt]IDOL WORSHIPERS!!!![/size]

Posted: at 17-06-2010 10:47 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Inemx at 17-06-2010 10:55 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on 17-06-2010 10:36 AM

THE IDOL YOU PEOPLE ARE WORSHIPING HAS BEEN DESTROYED BY GOD SENT LIGHTING. I AM SAYING THAT YOU SHOULD BE CAREFUL FOR YOU WILL BE THE NEXT. I WONDER WHAT KIND OF BRAIN YOU HAVE. THIS THING IS REAL AND YOU UP TILL NOW CANT FEEL IT. WHEN THE LIGHTING STRIKE ON YOU, YOU WILL BE NO MORE.
EH..EH, TELL MI SOMETHING... IN FACT I DON BECOME IMAM YESTERDAY. MY YASH!
Posted: at 17-06-2010 10:55 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 17-06-2010 01:26 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Inemx on 17-06-2010 10:55 AM
Quote from: cadanre on 17-06-2010 10:36 AM

EH..EH, TELL MI SOMETHING... IN FACT I DON BECOME IMAM YESTERDAY. MY YASH!

NO IMAM FOR IDOL WORSHIPPERS. YOU LIED.

Posted: at 17-06-2010 01:26 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- derbi at 17-06-2010 06:08 PM (13 years ago)
it is clear that u are stupid so i dont have to waist my time answering ur question, u are not a christian any way.....
Posted: at 17-06-2010 06:08 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emirateskyd at 17-06-2010 07:43 PM (13 years ago)
  Shocked Shocked i can see d anger.derbi, y are u desgracing christians here?? Grin....is d small cross on ur neck not a statue, or is it a human beign??....I know u go to all this road side white garment church Grin.Tell me, so there is no single statue in ur church??..... anoda gramatical error: waste not waist Grin
Posted: at 17-06-2010 07:43 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- cadanre at 17-06-2010 08:10 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: emirateskyd on 17-06-2010 07:43 PM
  Shocked Shocked i can see d anger.derbi, y are u desgracing christians here?? Grin....is d small cross on ur neck not a statue, or is it a human beign??....I know u go to all this road side white garment church Grin.Tell me, so there is no single statue in ur church??..... anoda gramatical error: waste not waist Grin

Tell him bro.

Posted: at 17-06-2010 08:10 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 17-06-2010 08:14 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: derbi on 17-06-2010 06:08 PM
it is clear that u are stupid so i dont have to waist my time answering ur question, u are not a christian any way.....

derbi stop worshiping Idol. Even Jesus will be angry with you for worshiping His statue. Jesus did not ask you to worship him.

Posted: at 17-06-2010 08:14 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
[1] 2 3 4 ... 9