Finally! EFCC Arrests Ex-Minister, Abba Moro, Two Others Over 2014 Immigration Recruitment

Date: 22-02-2016 10:56 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 22-02-2016 10:56 PM (8 years ago)
 On March 15, 2014, a very sad day where over 20 people who felled for the Nigeria Immigration recruitment scam answered eternity’s call are finally on the verge of getting Justice.

The EFCC (Economic and Financial Crimes Commission) had on Monday arrested a former Minister of Interior, Abba Moro, over the Nigerian Immigration recruitment scam.

According to reports reaching Aderemi’s blog, the former permanent secretary in the ministry, Anaesthesia Nwaobia and a deputy director were arrested alongside the Former Minister of Interior.

A source at the commission, who cannot be named because she is not authorised to speak on the matter, told PREMIUM TIMES the three suspects were picked up in the evening.

“They were brought into the commission’s headquarters today and will be arraigned on a 12-count charge in the Federal High Court Abuja on Tuesday,” the source said.

Some of the charges against Mr. Moro and his colleagues include obtaining by false pretence, procurement offences, corrupt practices and money laundering.

At least nine job seekers died on March 15, 2014 at the Abuja National Stadium while scrambling to secure seats for a recruitment test into the Nigerian Immigration Service.

The stampede ensued after the over 200,000 job seekers scrambled through a poorly organized barricade at the stadium.

In Port Harcourt, Rivers State, four applicants died from the stampede while 12 others sustained injuries and were rushed to Rivers government-owned Braithwaite Memorial Hospital.

h 15 tragedy, several Nigerians demanded the resignation or dismissal of Mr. Moro and the Comptroller-General of Immigration, David Parradang, as well as their criminal prosecution for involuntary homicide.

They were accused of putting in place a sham recruitment process that enabled the interior ministry to extort at least N520 million in compulsory levy imposed on applicants.

The minister, who initially blamed impatience and refusal by applicants to abide by instructions for the tragedy, later accepted responsibility for the incident.

He, however, refused to step down.

Speaking on a Channels TV’s breakfast programme, Sunrise, on October 20, 2014, Mr. Moro made it clear he would not resign, saying he would rather stay put in office to clear the mess caused by the incidence.

“The point at which we are now is not about resignation. That time has gone,” Mr. Morro said in response to a question over why he refused to quit.

“At the time (people were calling for his resignation), I think emotions were very high. I was in the eye of a storm.

“At that time, a lot of options were on the table… The issue is do you resign or do you stay to sort out the problem that have been created?

“I decided that staying and mopping up the mess caused by the lack of proper implementation of our plans is better. That’s the point we are now.”

The minister said Nigerians should consider the tragedy as an accident which he too did not plan for or envisage.

“I also have families. I didn’t set out on that journey knowing that accident would occur that would lead to the death of human beings.

“We took everything into proper perspective. If we had succeeded, a few Nigerians would have congratulated us for the job well done.”

Posted: at 22-02-2016 10:56 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ujmaria at 22-02-2016 11:01 PM (8 years ago)
Make una answer una jail call,
Posted: at 22-02-2016 11:01 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yebo15 at 22-02-2016 11:03 PM (8 years ago)
They catch them every day and after making the headlines for some days we hear nothing about them again.
Posted: at 22-02-2016 11:03 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- kp45 at 22-02-2016 11:06 PM (8 years ago)
I think am interested in this case.
Posted: at 22-02-2016 11:06 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ficull at 22-02-2016 11:08 PM (8 years ago)
splendid... I am elated  that someone is finally gonna answer for those senseless deaths.. You scammed the job seekers and killed them too. How wicked and inhuman.
Posted: at 22-02-2016 11:08 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chylind5 at 22-02-2016 11:16 PM (8 years ago)
Return our 1000 naira. This stupid man. I think I support this one. May the soul of Dorothy my friend and all those who died during the fake recruitment RIP.Amen
Posted: at 22-02-2016 11:16 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 22-02-2016 11:39 PM (8 years ago)
Nigeria Grown on the soil of scam and corruption!
Posted: at 22-02-2016 11:39 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- charisVEC at 22-02-2016 11:48 PM (8 years ago)
I see,issokay
Posted: at 22-02-2016 11:48 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 23-02-2016 12:03 AM (8 years ago)
wicked man....you did well oooh you hear... am happy
you are behind bars
Posted: at 23-02-2016 12:03 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- imaria at 23-02-2016 01:22 AM (8 years ago)
I'm passing oooh
Posted: at 23-02-2016 01:22 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Powerfulify at 23-02-2016 03:25 AM (8 years ago)
Minister without portfolio, and they did not reimburse those candidates or families
Posted: at 23-02-2016 03:25 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Eazyatumeyi at 23-02-2016 07:27 AM (8 years ago)
Arrest them all, criminals, thieves, Ole, barawo, oji, oyi, pen robbers.
Posted: at 23-02-2016 07:27 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- lilchuks28 at 23-02-2016 07:42 AM (8 years ago)
hymn,..........let's see how this comes to an end.... Que Sera Sera
Posted: at 23-02-2016 07:42 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- DAMILARE100 at 23-02-2016 08:16 AM (8 years ago)
If the present administration can do justice in the case alone till 2019, i would be pleased.
Posted: at 23-02-2016 08:16 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 23-02-2016 08:16 AM (8 years ago)
NEXT TIME Y'ALL NEED TO be careful, to be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLL L... ...
Posted: at 23-02-2016 08:16 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Trueyarn at 23-02-2016 11:49 AM (8 years ago)
If nigeria is a country with good heart for its citizens,this idiot is suppose to spend the rest of his miserable life in jail with hard labour.
Posted: at 23-02-2016 11:49 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Trueyarn at 23-02-2016 11:50 AM (8 years ago)
If nigeria is a country with good heart for its citizens,this idiot is suppose to spend the rest of his miserable life in jail with hard labour.
Posted: at 23-02-2016 11:50 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- diezo at 23-02-2016 01:24 PM (8 years ago)
AN AFTER D ARREST AND TRIAL WHAT HAPPENS NEXT Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes ANYWAYS WAITING BUT BEFORE THEN MAKE DEM REMEBER SAY PERSON NO WELL ANOTHER PERSON WEY WELL COME DEY TAKE TABLET FOR PERSON WEY NO WELL NA WHO NO COME WELL يراقب الله !!!
Posted: at 23-02-2016 01:24 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- donrich2015 at 23-02-2016 06:43 PM (8 years ago)
He should be charge with manslaughter too
Posted: at 23-02-2016 06:43 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- benokafor at 24-02-2016 11:37 AM (8 years ago)
ENDTIME FORMER MINISTER
Posted: at 24-02-2016 11:37 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming