Is Muhammad a messenger or prophet?

Date: 18-08-2010 12:57 am (13 years ago) | Author: Original Sly
- at 18-08-2010 12:57 AM (13 years ago)
Just curious. I hear people refer to him as a messenger and other times as a prophet. I understand why he is called a messenger. I don't understand why he is called a prophet...maybe because I never heard of anything he predicted. Please, ... don't make this a Christian/Islam debate and please...if you not sure of the answer, I'll prefer you pass on this one rather than jump to confusion.

Posted: at 18-08-2010 12:57 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- mubaji at 19-08-2010 09:05 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Originalsly on 18-08-2010 12:57 AM
Just curious. I hear people refer to him as a messenger and other times as a prophet. I understand why he is called a messenger. I don't understand why he is called a prophet...maybe because I never heard of anything he predicted Shocked. Please, ... don't make this a Christian/Islam debate and please...if you not sure of the answer, I'll prefer you pass on this one rather than jump to confusion.
wait, i'll be back for this topic soon.
Posted: at 19-08-2010 09:05 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- omorewa at 20-08-2010 11:06 AM (13 years ago)
GOOD QUESTION....... MUSLIMS WERE UNA DEY?

Posted: at 20-08-2010 11:06 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- omorewa at 20-08-2010 11:08 AM (13 years ago)
good question.. muslims were una dey?

Posted: at 20-08-2010 11:08 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- abdulk at 20-08-2010 12:11 PM (13 years ago)
He is both a prophet and a messenger of God. A prophet means anyone divinely sent to the world to guide the people towards salvation examples include Harun (Aaron), Nuh (Noah), Isa (Jesus), Mohammed (PBUH) etc.
On the other hand, A messenger refers to only those who were sent with a book. They are only four in number. Dawud (David) was sent with Zabur, Musa (Moses) was sent with Torah, Isa (Jesus) was sent with Injil and lastly Mohammed (PBUH) was sent with Qur'an.
This is the difference.
N.B the word prophet has been bastardised today.
Posted: at 20-08-2010 12:11 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- mubaji at 20-08-2010 08:36 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: mubaji on 19-08-2010 09:05 PM
Just curious. I hear people refer to him as a messenger and other times as a prophet. I understand why he is called a messenger. I don't understand why he is called a prophet...maybe because I never heard of anything he predicted Shocked. Please, ... don't make this a Christian/Islam debate and please...if you not sure of the answer, I'll prefer you pass on this one rather than jump to confusion.

I'm back as promised and to start with, the two terms "prophet" and "messemger" has to be defined. you can give other definitions if you have any.
according to Islamic scholars, a prophet is the One who delivers God will messages based on a fore-prophet/mesenger's principle or law i.e a prophet doesn't come with a new book nor message, he only confirms the message of the prophet or messenger before him. Hence in Islam, Harun (Aron) is a prophet not a messenger while Musa (Moses) is a messenger.

according to above definiton, a messenger would be "One who God sent with a new book and law" therefore, all messengers are prophets while not all prophets are messengers.

Inotherwords, the similarity between both is that they deliver God's message while the difference is they are not both given new laws or book.
although the common-concept among many (mostly christians) is that a prophet is the one who tells about future-events even if no concrete evidence to prove that he/she is Godly sent; in Islam there is no other prophet after the seal of all prophets which is Prophet Muhammad (Peace be upon HIm) but one (a pious Muslim) could forsee the future through the light of God which is rarely attained by most men.
Posted: at 20-08-2010 08:36 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mubaji at 20-08-2010 09:09 PM (13 years ago)
nevertheless, here are some prophecies from messenger/prophet Muhammad (Peace be upon Him). he said it since more than 1,430 years ago; some have come to be and some are still coming

Camels will no longer be used as a means of transport;

People will ride on saddles that aren't saddles (cars?)

The distance on earth will become short;

Horses will not be used in wars;

Muslims will defeat the Byzantines which will end with the conquest of Constantinople( Istanbul )

The Jews will gather again to live in Bilad Canaan;

Very tall buildings will be built;

The disappearance of knowledge and the appearance of ignorance, with much killing;

Adultery will become widespread, and the drinking of wine will become common;

The number of men will decrease and the number of women will increase until there are 50 women to be looked after by one man.

Islam will become worn out like clothes are, until no one will know what fasting, prayer, charity and rituals are;

Allah will send a disease to fornicators that will have no cure;

People will begin to believe in the stars and reject AL QADAR (THE DIVINE DECREE OF DESTINY);

Men will pass by people's graves and say: 'Would that I was in his place';

The Euphrates will uncover a mountain of gold for which people will fight over (the river of Alfurat that lies near Syria ).

Just to mention few
Posted: at 20-08-2010 09:09 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- attamem at 21-08-2010 12:33 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: mubaji on 20-08-2010 08:36 PM

I'm back as promised and to start with, the two terms "prophet" and "messemger" has to be defined. you can give other definitions if you have any.
according to Islamic scholars, a prophet is the One who delivers God will messages based on a fore-prophet/mesenger's principle or law i.e a prophet doesn't come with a new book nor message, he only confirms the message of the prophet or messenger before him. Hence in Islam, Harun (Aron) is a prophet not a messenger while Musa (Moses) is a messenger.

according to above definiton, a messenger would be "One who God sent with a new book and law" therefore, all messengers are prophets while not all prophets are messengers.

Inotherwords, the similarity between both is that they deliver God's message while the difference is they are not both given new laws or book.
although the common-concept among many (mostly christians) is that a prophet is the one who tells about future-events even if no concrete evidence to prove that he/she is Godly sent; in Islam there is no other prophet after the seal of all prophets which is Prophet Muhammad (Peace be upon HIm) but one (a pious Muslim) could forsee the future through the light of God which is rarely attained by most men.

[/quote
You have said it very right, and God bless you amin.
Posted: at 21-08-2010 12:33 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- mubaji at 21-08-2010 08:11 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: attamem on 21-08-2010 12:33 AM
You have said it very right, and God bless you amin.
thanks, same to you
Posted: at 21-08-2010 08:11 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- abdulk at 23-08-2010 12:29 PM (13 years ago)

you are right but i don't agree with the path were u said a pious Muslim sees the future, only Allah can see the future.
Posted: at 23-08-2010 12:29 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Inemx at 23-08-2010 01:45 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: abdulk on 20-08-2010 12:11 PM
He is both a prophet and a messenger of God. A prophet means anyone divinely sent to the world to guide the people towards salvation examples include Harun (Aaron), Nuh (Noah), Isa (Jesus), Mohammed (PBUH) etc.
On the other hand, A messenger refers to only those who were sent with a book. They are only four in number. Dawud (David) was sent with Zabur, Musa (Moses) was sent with Torah, Isa (Jesus) was sent with Injil and lastly Mohammed (PBUH) was sent with Qur'an.
This is the difference.
N.B the word prophet has been bastardised today.

HE WAS A PROPHET AND A MESSENGER, BUT NOT FROM JEHOVAH GOD. SOMETHING ELSE ( THE DEVEL)MUST HAVE SENT HIM.
Posted: at 23-08-2010 01:45 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chik001 at 24-08-2010 12:29 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: abdulk on 23-08-2010 12:29 PM

you are right but i don't agree with the path were u said a pious Muslim sees the future, only Allah can see the future.
Oh! is the Islamic scholars on self Jihad? So all the Islamic marabou are just playing Allah?
Posted: at 24-08-2010 12:29 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Originalsly at 25-08-2010 12:51 AM (13 years ago)
Like Mujabi pointed out... guess the root of my problem was with the word 'prophet' which has a different meaning in Islam than in western culture. I'll continue to be 'a fly on the wall'...reading the opinions but hoping that I'll eventually be wiser!
Posted: at 25-08-2010 12:51 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- schegzy at 25-08-2010 12:54 PM (13 years ago)
HE WAS A PROPHET AND A MESSENGER, BUT NOT FROM JEHOVAH GOD. SOMETHING ELSE ( THE DEVEL)MUST HAVE SENT HIM.
[/quote]

Nuisance, when will you get sense?
Curiously, I need to know.
Posted: at 25-08-2010 12:54 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- mubaji at 29-08-2010 12:49 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: abdulk on 23-08-2010 12:29 PM

well, maybe you need to read more & have proofs to get convinced; i hope you do that as soon as possible.
Posted: at 29-08-2010 12:49 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mubaji at 11-01-2012 03:27 PM (12 years ago)
 Wink
Posted: at 11-01-2012 03:27 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jaykay123 at 19-01-2012 03:11 AM (12 years ago)
I'm very sure this mubaji of a person is nt educated. Is ther anytin lik a muslim dictionary dat redefines engliah words cos i knw very well that d word prophet is an english word & we all knw wat it means... ' one who devinely reveals future event accurately. This guy must b one of thos boko haram fightin against western education.  Pls find ur muslem grammar to qualify ur mohamed but pls dnt call him a prophet cos dats an english word wt an english meaning. Ahh!!!
Posted: at 19-01-2012 03:11 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- mubaji at 20-01-2012 09:03 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: jaykay123 on 19-01-2012 03:11 AM
I'm very sure this mubaji of a person is nt educated. Is ther anytin lik a muslim dictionary dat redefines engliah words cos i knw very well that d word prophet is an english word & we all knw wat it means... ' one who devinely reveals future event accurately. This guy must b one of thos boko haram fightin against western education.  Pls find ur muslem grammar to qualify ur mohamed but pls dnt call him a prophet cos dats an english word wt an english meaning. Ahh!!!
you see, i don't need you to testify to my level of Education but i know i'll be hunted for if i land in Nigeria today. it's networking that gives someone like you to exchange words with me. ago lo ko eiye-le po mo adiye.

meanwhile, call me names because you can't prove me wrong; it shows i know what i'm doing while you are otherwise.
Posted: at 20-01-2012 09:03 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jaykay123 at 20-01-2012 11:06 PM (12 years ago)
& wat are u doing?
Posted: at 20-01-2012 11:06 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- CammyWhite at 21-01-2012 02:29 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: mubaji on 20-01-2012 09:03 PM
you see, i don't need you to testify to my level of Education but i know i'll be hunted for if i land in Nigeria today. it's networking that gives someone like you to exchange words with me. ago lo ko eiye-le po mo adiye.

meanwhile, call me names because you can't prove me wrong; it shows i know what i'm doing while you are otherwise.

You've got it ass backwards. He doesn't have to prove you wrong; you have to prove that you're right.
Posted: at 21-01-2012 02:29 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac