FBI Links Al-Qaeda to Abuja Blasts (Page 3)

Date: 08-01-2011 8:08 am (13 years ago) | Author: WhoBdat
1 2 [3] 4 5 6
- wunzie at 8-01-2011 04:22 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: WhoBdat on  8-01-2011 08:08 AM
America disclosed on Tuesday that Al-Qaeda, the Islamic terrorist network, was the financier, the planner, and the executor of the bomb blasts that killed and maimed in Abuja on New Year's eve.

The Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) probing the explosions said in its preliminary report that local affiliated terrorist cells provided support on the ground.

FBI agents made the connection after they "conclusively found that the signature of the bomb matched other blasts by the terror network."

According to counter-terrorism experts, every bomb - like art - has the signature of its maker or group-based on funding, sophistication, and objective.

"Some bombs are made to serve as warning with little damage while others are made to achieve as much collateral damage and deaths as possible, which is the hallmark of Al-Qaeda," an official stated.

Homeland Security Department officials and Pentagon sources added that based on the FBI findings, President Barack Obama has approved a request by Nigeria for a permanent FBI counter-terrorism unit in the country.

"These agents normally do investigations after a blast but their job in Abuja may now include preventing these blasts through better security coordination and surveillance."

They will also train Nigerians on how to detect and deal with local terror groups.

Based on the FBI recommendations, Abuja has awarded a contract for the installation of close circuit security cameras at sensitive locations countrywide, including airports, bridges, roads, hotels and other places determined by officials.

The cameras are emerging as an important tool in detection and prosecution of terror suspects.

The government has agreed to also keep an eye on Islamic scholars visiting Nigeria from the Middle East whose teachings are deemed inflammatory. "Groups like Boko Haram are being influenced and financed by extremist foreign religious leaders and groups with the intention of overthrowing the Nigerian Government.

"It is the responsibility of the government to cut such ties and funding in the interest of national security," Homeland Department officials warned.

The prodding of the Americans also led to the directive given by the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) that all banks should tell their customers to update their data.

"It was discovered that thousands of fictitious accounts are being used by suspected terror groups to move vast amounts of money to finance their training and operation. Hopefully the policy will close that window and cut off the funds."

Besides, the FBI recommended the setting up of a new terror unit, independent of existing security agencies, because of fears dozens of officials may have been compromised by bribes.

Back in Lagos, daily activities were disrupted in Alausa on Thursday as a result of another bomb scare through an anonymous note dropped in the toilet of a company.

It claimed that a bomb would detonate in about six hours' time.

The note, signed by a group called Concerned Nigerians, urged the evacuation of workers and visitors to the premises.

News of the impending explosion, which started mid-day, spread like wide fire and soon attracted the police Anti-bomb Squad.

Lagos State Government secretariat workers also panicked at the news that another bomb was planted in the secretariat.

Governor Babatunde Fashola got to hear about it at about 3:30 p.m. during the commissioning of phase two of the modern taxi cab scheme in Ikeja, where he was represented by his Deputy, Sarah Sosan.

The state government allayed the fears by saying that the security operatives are on top of the situation and urged residents of the mega city to go about their businesses without panic.

But elsewhere, the police also had to dismiss as a mere threat, report of the presence of a bomb in Motorways building in the Ikosi area, which anti-terrorists officers cordoned off.

Police Commissioner, Marvel Akpoyibo, said it was the handiwork of trouble makers to create fear in the minds of residents.

He appealed to Lagosians to ignore the rumour.

On Wednesday, police anti-bomb squad began the screening of cars at the Lagos Airport, sequel to the bombings in Jos on Christmas eve and in Abuja on New Year's eve that killed several people, and heightened tension over insecurity.

Officers used metal and mine detectors to search cars at the general aviation terminal, on the directive of Airport Police Commissioner, Moses Onireti.

It was learnt that the exercise was supposed to be a 24-hour affair but did not last that long, probably because of lack of manpower in the anti-bomb unit.

Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (FAAN) Managing Director, Richard Aisuebeogun, said security at the airports is being taken seriously, and that the FAAN has met with security agencies on the new procedure.

He reiterated that, "Every airport where you have the conglomeration of people means a lot to us, lives and properties are involved. Therefore, we are taking seriously the security of airports. Just yesterday, we had a meeting with (Onireti) and I also met with the Chief Security Officer (CSO).

"As we speak, in another few minutes an airport security committee meeting would hold. We have also directed that a similar meeting, which usually is monthly, should hold on urgent basis."

"We have put in place security procedures that we are currently implementing, so as to ensure we do not have any breaches within the airport environment."

Aisuebeogun added that the Director General of the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA), Harold Demuren, who is currently out of the country, is very concerned about security at the airports - and this will necessitate a larger security meeting to review the step taken.

He said efforts will be made to see that Nigerian airports comply with the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) security regulations.

"We believe that we can put in our best and God will surely bless the efforts. That is what we are doing right now and I want to tell you that (Demuren) is very concerned.

"He is currently abroad, and as soon as he comes back, we will hold a larger airport security meeting again to quickly review what our officers and men on the field have done, so as to ensure strict compliance with ICAO security regulations and procedures."

Daily Independent (Lagos)

I wouldn't be surprised to see some rights brigade saying that muslims are wrongly being pin pointed.  Fact is, the law is the law, and if it is found that a number of crimes have been commited by a particular religious group, then there's no harm saying so.  Why not?  If equality is what we boast we have in Nigeria, then they must be judged by their deeds.  Haven't these bozos done enough damage to the earth?  I think we have reached the point where enough is enough.

Posted: at 8-01-2011 04:22 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mafiaa at 8-01-2011 04:28 PM (13 years ago)
No fear, na conspiracy, nothing like al-qaeda.

God will surly judge any who takes a life that he cant give!
Posted: at 8-01-2011 04:28 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- moniconyez at 8-01-2011 04:30 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on  8-01-2011 02:10 PM
With regard to what FBI said that Al-qaeeda has hands in the atrocities in Abuja I will not say YES or NO. This is because I really don't trust these people. These are the same people who told the whole world that Saddam Hussein posseses Weapons of Mass Destruction which was the known reason for invading Iraq. After the overthrow of Saddam's regime and his execution the investigation was on-and-on to detect and discover the said WMD. Believe me, I have been following Iraq's case from the begining.

On the other hands, some people may accomodate Al-qaeeda to reasons known to themselves. But in whatever way, there is no justification in killing innocent people religiously. And here, I will say that nobody (A MUSLIM) has right or is asked to plant a bomb where unsuspecting and innocent people are relaxing and enjoying the eve of a new year or Christmas.

Let us take ourselves back to what happened in Iraq. THE SAME CIA/FBI Told the world that there were weapons of mass destruction in Iraq and it was the same CIA who investigate, searched everywhere but no single evidence could be found that WMD ever existed there. THAT WAS A PLAN TO BLACKMAIL SADDAM, INVADE HIS COUNTRY FOR ECONOMIC AND OTHER HIDDEN GAINS.

Follow the link below to be sure that CIA confirmed that THERE WERE NO TRACE OF WEAPONS OF MASS DESTRUCTION IN IRAQ (THEY REALLY KNOW HOW TO FABRICATE LIES TO ACHIEVE WHAT THEY WANT TO ACHIEVE) :

WHICH People are you sending link of what happened in Iraq for? I know more that you do concerning Iraqi war ok?.
And no muslim have ever said any thing GOOD about the Americans, THAT WE KNOW QUITE WELL OK? . And if you think the Americans said the truth by telling the world that they couldnt found any weapon of mass destruction makes them liars? Then You must be kidding and be ashamed of your self aswell. Because if it happens to be Islamic country or group, dont you think they will PLANT the WEAPON OF MASS DESTRUCTION AND SHOW IT TO THE WORLD? And For your information we are talking about Nigeria not Iraq ok? SOON VERY SOON ALL OF YOU I MEAN THE TERRO PEOPLE WILL FLUSH AWAY.
Posted: at 8-01-2011 04:30 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- moniconyez at 8-01-2011 04:34 PM (13 years ago)
@CADANRE

WHICH People are you sending link of what happened in Iraq for? I know more that you do concerning Iraqi war ok?.
And no muslim have ever said any thing GOOD about the Americans, THAT WE KNOW QUITE WELL OK? . And if you think the Americans said the truth by telling the world that they couldnt found any weapon of mass destruction makes them liars? Then You must be kidding and be ashamed of your self aswell. Because if it happens to be Islamic country or group, dont you think they will PLANT the WEAPON OF MASS DESTRUCTION AND SHOW IT TO THE WORLD? And For your information we are talking about Nigeria not Iraq ok? SOON VERY SOON ALL OF YOU I MEAN THE TERRO PEOPLE WILL FLUSH AWAY.
Posted: at 8-01-2011 04:34 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- dumosky2010 at 8-01-2011 05:13 PM (13 years ago)
Who told you i have the right to remain silent? i don't have any right at all....
Posted: at 8-01-2011 05:13 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- schunny55 at 8-01-2011 05:17 PM (13 years ago)
lie lie USA they want to bring problem in this nation cant u see,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,lie lie oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
Posted: at 8-01-2011 05:17 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- od501 at 8-01-2011 05:28 PM (13 years ago)
NAIJA WE TOO DEY IMITATE HABA !!
Posted: at 8-01-2011 05:28 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- deeslizy at 8-01-2011 05:32 PM (13 years ago)
This is a shame....not only on Nigeria but on Muslims as well. If we ask the people of MEND why they are revolting, they still have a relatively "sensible" reason, But if we ask people of BOKO HARAM and other muslim sects, their reason is totally unjustifiable by religion or morals. These phyuking bastards have no moral sense and they will dine and burn in hell.

Having said that....it is very wrong to classify all muslims as terrorist. I do understand that some of them (even non terrorist ones) can be very aggressive but have also seen christians just as aggressive. These thing they call "passion" for their religion has driven them to the point of delusion and they can no longer think properly (both muslim and christians alike). Thats why i generally have my reservations about religion.....I believe its enough to believe in God. Why do you think its so difficult to seperate religion and politics in any country. This religion thing is like a too and complicates things.

Lastly, alot of people say FBI and America have their agenda and they want to control Nigeria, what about the agenda of AL-QUEDA and BOKO HARAM and other muslim and christian sects. Would you rather allow Nigeria continue to slip into anarchy with this bombings or allow FBI help maintain order. We definitely cannot do it ourselves.
Posted: at 8-01-2011 05:32 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- odiono at 8-01-2011 05:39 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: elusakin on  8-01-2011 01:37 PM
I knew it.

It was gonna end that way.

A counter-terrorism unit in Nigeria, soon, they'll be fighting against militants in the Niger-Delta, very soon, they'll be controlling the oil of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

You think USA is a good country? I can give you a link to a video released by WikiLeak where US Military killed very innocent civilians.

Just thinking...

i absolutely do not suscribe to anything AMERICA presence in the soil of NIGERIA whether in the guise of cubbing terrorism or something else. what a trick! how could any reasonable leader allow a trick of this nature! if this is true that someone in the helm of affairs in the country requested for this i regrect the action! it is said one can not be completely bad i agree 'cause even OBASANJO whom most people despice never gave in to this! what a betrayal!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 8-01-2011 05:39 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- amaka_beauty at 8-01-2011 06:09 PM (13 years ago)
i really can not understand why some muslims go around bombing others after they pray 5 times a day ...............and they claim the religion is about peace if its about peace why dont they pray to GOD rather than going around boombing others
Posted: at 8-01-2011 06:09 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ksurrina at 8-01-2011 06:27 PM (13 years ago)
It is TERRORISM for true but not from the REALM of AL QEADA. When the FOOD POISONING appears then come Mr. FBI who is looking for scape goat and tell NIGERIANS that is Al Qeada. You are using everything that you see can give you access to this group and so you put everything on them. This is the reason why PERSONS will performed their In House Terrorism and called you guys to come and cover. The Lord is looking and I am laughing because I am seeing the Power of the Almighty God showing himself in a country that is well hated. This is an election that is showing the citizens of Nigeria things that they never seen or heard before.

If only Nigerians will start listening and closing their eyes to the world and allow the Spirit of Christ to lead them. Then they will see the plans that is there for their country. Violence in Nigeria is coming to an end. It is a God fearing country and the citizens will start living a life of Peace and Joy. Let me continue to observe and laugh at the Worldly Wisdom that is lead by the Robber and Destroyer Satan. He is exploiting because of the ignorance and pride of Nigerians which they need to let go in order to start receive what they have been praying for. Pride and ignorance is not of God but it is rampant inside of this beautiful country. Hugs and blessings

Posted: at 8-01-2011 06:27 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 8-01-2011 06:48 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: ronaldson on  8-01-2011 03:28 PM
Its such a shame that Nigerian athority can not handle this group of people that are cursing problem to the country,they hv to bring in the FBI to investigate.

From what i have seen happening in other countries where the FBI go to, in the name of making peace,they end up making the situation there worst, for example Iraq,Afanganistan and somalia.....etc. also they never go to a place where their are no resources 4 them to gain.

I really think is a bad idea to let them into Nigeria becus now that they are in u will notice that this group will grow stronger AND MULTIPLY. Grin

The first time we share the same idea...GOOD.

Posted: at 8-01-2011 06:48 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 8-01-2011 06:57 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: moniconyez on  8-01-2011 04:34 PM
@CADANRE

Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy. You know what? The sanguine approach you are giving to this issue is not a surprise to me. But let me tell you that you are only pontificating without a sign of experience about what you are saying. In fact, all you have said does not make a sense. What are you really driving at??

Posted: at 8-01-2011 06:57 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 8-01-2011 07:00 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: ksurrina on  8-01-2011 06:27 PM
It is TERRORISM for true but not from the REALM of AL QEADA. When the FOOD POISONING appears then come Mr. FBI who is looking for scape goat and tell NIGERIANS that is Al Qeada. You are using everything that you see can give you access to this group and so you put everything on them. This is the reason why PERSONS will performed their In House Terrorism and called you guys to come and cover. The Lord is looking and I am laughing because I am seeing the Power of the Almighty God showing himself in a country that is well hated. This is an election that is showing the citizens of Nigeria things that they never seen or heard before.

If only Nigerians will start listening and closing their eyes to the world and allow the Spirit of Christ to lead them. Then they will see the plans that is there for their country. Violence in Nigeria is coming to an end. It is a God fearing country and the citizens will start living a life of Peace and Joy. Let me continue to observe and laugh at the Worldly Wisdom that is lead by the Robber and Destroyer Satan. He is exploiting because of the ignorance and pride of Nigerians which they need to let go in order to start receive what they have been praying for. Pride and ignorance is not of God but it is rampant inside of this beautiful country. Hugs and blessings

Sounds....SENSIBLE. Really!

Posted: at 8-01-2011 07:00 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- faggo at 8-01-2011 07:07 PM (13 years ago)
It is not  a surprise to me to hard that America claim that Al;Qaeda was responsible for the explosion  in Abuja, America  has only one enemy today which is Al;Qaeda,had it being Barrack Obama will have headache i am sure they will  accuse Al;Qaeda .
Posted: at 8-01-2011 07:07 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- 2slimshady at 8-01-2011 07:25 PM (13 years ago)
they are doing a good job, but i hope F B I wont start to rule over us soon because the americans are very smart and intelligent.
Posted: at 8-01-2011 07:25 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- terdue at 8-01-2011 07:30 PM (13 years ago)
see me see wahala o
Posted: at 8-01-2011 07:30 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ezriano at 8-01-2011 08:00 PM (13 years ago)
They should not allow all those islamic scholars to step into this peaceful country of ours with that there peaceless religion.......they are the ones that are motivating those enternal extremist to disturb thd peace of this nation.
Posted: at 8-01-2011 08:00 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- princedafe at 8-01-2011 08:07 PM (13 years ago)
ok, wat are they going to to do about it
Posted: at 8-01-2011 08:07 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kinkino at 8-01-2011 08:14 PM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 8-01-2011 08:14 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 2 [3] 4 5 6